Review: At Bluebonnet Lake (Texas Crossroads #1) by Amanda Cabot

October 3, 2015 Amanda Cabot, Christian, contemporary, romance 1

at bluebonnet lake

Marketing maven Kate Sherwood’s world is fast-paced, challenging, and always changing. The last thing she wants to do is slow down to a crawl at Rainbow’s End, a dilapidated resort in the Texas Hill Country. But she cannot deny her ailing grandmother’s request to visit the place where she and her deceased husband spent one glorious week (albeit fifty years ago). There Kate meets Greg Vange, the resort’s handyman. But there’s more to Greg than meets the eye–billions more, in fact, as he recently sold his successful software company and is at the resort in search of what’s next for his life.

Kate isn’t looking for romance, but she can’t deny the sparks of attraction that fly every time she and Greg are together. She even starts to see potential in the rundown resort. Could there be a future there? Or will Kate’s long-sought promotion take her back to the big city?

my thoughtsI’ve read all of Amanda Cabot’s historical novels, but At Bluebonnet Lake is her first contemporary romance – and the start of a new series. Granted, it’s been out for a year now (REVELL, October 2014) but I’m just now getting to it.  What a treat I was missing!

We’ve all experienced Kate’s first reaction to Rainbow’s End – that sinking feeling when you pull up to the “resort” you were promised and find yourself looking at something badly in need of repairs.  A quick check at Hotels.com or Expedia shows you haven’t lost your mind – the reviews were good … maybe everyone else has lost theirs? Most of us have the option of packing ourselves right back into our cars and finding something that looks like it won’t fall down around us while we’re sleeping.  If only Kate Sherwood had that luxury… but she’s kinda stuck at Rainbow’s End for the time being.  Fortunately for us – because it’s there, in all its dilapidated glory, that her story takes flight.

The scenery, painted across the page by Ms. Cabot’s talented hand, captivated me.  From the placid Bluebonnet Lake to 800px-Texas_Bluebonnets_(7066452003)the fields of bluebonnets themselves, I was about ready to hop in the car for a road trip!

I really enjoyed reading about Kate and Greg – they were sweet and fun together, and I’d love to just hang out with them for an afternoon or so.  But, Sally and Roy took me by surprise and completely stole my heart! Those two made me tear up more than once – or grin like a sap – or both at the same time.  Add Carmen and KOB and the people of Dupree & you have a cast of characters that truly shines.

Speaking of characters, the author has promised at least two more trips to Rainbow’s End.  I’m looking forward to each stay already 🙂

Bottom Line: A sweet, gentle romance with strong and endearing characters and a plot that will tug at your heart. If you’ve read Amanda Cabot’s historicals, you will really enjoy her first foray into the contemporary market as well.  Fans of Irene Hannon’s or Robin Lee Hatcher’s contemporary romances will find a lot to love about At Bluebonnet Lake too!

purple4

(I checked this book out from my local library.  As always, this is my only my honest opinion.)

amanda cabotAbout the Author: 

Amanda Cabot is the bestselling author of the Texas Dreams series, the Westward Winds series, and Christmas Roses. Her books have been finalists for the ACFW Carol Awards and the Booksellers’ Best. She lives in Wyoming. Learn more at www.amandacabot.com.

Connect with Amanda Cabot at:

facebook

&

twitter

Carrie

One Response to “Review: At Bluebonnet Lake (Texas Crossroads #1) by Amanda Cabot”