Review: Miracle Drug by Richard Mabry, M.D. (Plus a Giveaway!)

October 14, 2015 Christian, contemporary, mystery/suspense, Richard Mabry 5

miracle drugOvercoming these odds will take more than a miracle drug—it will take a miracle.

The infection wasn’t supposed to happen, but it did. The treatment was supposed to take care of it, but it didn’t. Then Dr. Josh Pearson discovers why.

The two patients – David Madison, the former President of the United States and Rachel Moore,a nurse Josh is falling in love with – have been dosed with a different strain of the original virus, one that is universally fatal. The only chance for survival is treatment with an experimental drug, but the FDA didn’t approve it and the manufacturer says they have already discarded their supply.

As if treating the former President of the United States isn’t stressful enough, Josh is faced with high-stakes dilemmas that he never expected to encounter in medical practice. With ever-increasing pressure from Madison’s team, Josh must pull off a miracle to save two lives – this man who still holds a good deal of power and the woman who holds Josh’s heart.

First, let me say (and this has nothing to do with the book itself) that the blurb copy on both Goodreads and Amazon (and perhaps elsewhere) doesn’t really give an accurate picture of the plot.  So I edited it lol.  What you see above is a mix of my words and theirs.

my thoughtsI am not a medical person.  I tend to get woozy at the mere thought of medical procedures. The TV shows ER or House… not my thing.  (My mom, on the other hand, is a nurse.  She lives for this kind of thing!) That said, Miracle Drug is the kind of medical thriller I enjoy reading. Just enough terminology to remind you that a doctor wrote it, not so much that you feel you need a Johns Hopkins degree just to get to the next chapter.  Quite timely in light of events that took place just after Mabry finished writing the book, the “universally fatal” disease and its scarce cure will keep you on the edge of your seat. At least, they did for me – this was my first book to read by Dr. Mabry so I wasn’t 100% sure how things were going to play out. Is he a happily-ever-after kind of author? Does he lean more toward realism and kill people off for the sake of medical accuracy? I didn’t know, so that added to the suspense for me.

The political intrigue kept me guessing as well – I had so many possible suspects at one point that I wasn’t sure I could trust any of the characters! The ending sorta came out of nowhere, and I’m still not sure how I feel about parts of it. But I will say this – Miracle Drug would make a fascinating & riveting movie!! Someone, somewhere needs to read this and get on that project – stat!

Rounding out the plot were the elements of faith and romance.  I very much appreciated the glimpses of everyday belief that occurred naturally in the appropriate characters. It didn’t feel forced – it was just part of who they were.  The hint of romance added to the compelling and even agonizing decisions that Josh faced over the course of the novel but it was never too sappy as to take away from the edgy tension of the thriller.

Bottom Line: Clear out enough time in your day to read Miracle Drug because once you start this book, you won’t want to put it down until you’ve finished.  A plot fraught with possibilities and suspects, a whisper of romance, and a gentle nudge of faith make this an excellent choice for fans of Lee Child, Dee Henderson or Terri Blackstock… or even House. 

(I received a copy of this book in exchange for only my honest review.)

purple4

Purchase a copy: http://bit.ly/1L8pNgx

Click the picture below to enter to win 1 of 5 copies of Miracle Drug!

miracle-drug-giveaway

RMabry-120About The Author:

Dr. Richard Mabry is a retired physician who writes “medical suspense with heart.” His novels have won multiple awards: a semifinalist for International Thriller Writers’ debut novel; finalists for the Carol Award, Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award, and Romantic Times’ Reader’s Choice Award; and both finalist and winner of the Selah Award. “Miracle Drug” is his ninth published novel. He and his wife live in Frisco, Texas.

Connect with Dr. Mabry at:

his website

facebook

twitter

Carrie

5 Responses to “Review: Miracle Drug by Richard Mabry, M.D. (Plus a Giveaway!)”

    • Carrie

      Thank you for taking the time to comment! I will definitely be checking out your other novels after enjoying this one so much 🙂

  1. Anne Payne

    Great review! I’ve read a couple of Richard’s books and enjoyed them. He’s quite realistic in his writing and I find the plots fascinating. Thanks for sharing this giveaway.
    I found the link to your review on Pinterest.

Leave a Reply