Review (Plus a Giveaway!): A Respectable Actress by Dorothy Love ***CLOSED***

November 4, 2015 Dorothy Love, giveaway, historical, mystery/suspense, romance 29

a respectable actressWhen India Hartley is accused of murder, she must uncover the deceptions of others to save herself.

India Hartley, a famous and beautiful actress, is now alone after her father’s death and embarks upon a tour of theaters across the South. Her first stop is Savannah’s Southern Palace. On the eve of the second night’s performance, something goes horribly wrong. Her co-star, Arthur Sterling, is shot dead on stage in front of a packed house, and India is arrested and accused of the crime.

A benefactor hires Philip Sinclair, the best—and handsomest—lawyer in Savannah to defend India. A widower, Philip is struggling to reinvent his worn-out plantation on St. Simons Island. He needs to increase his income from his law practice in order to restore Indigo Point, and hardly anything will bring him more new clients than successfully defending a famous actress on a murder charge.

Because India can’t go anywhere in town without being mobbed, Philip persuades the judge handling her case to let him take her to Indigo Point until her trial date. India is charmed by the beauty of the Georgia lowcountry and is increasingly drawn to Philip. But a locked room that appears to be a shrine to Philip’s dead wife and the unsolved disappearance of a former slave girl raise troubling questions. Piecing together clues in an abandoned boat and a burned-out chapel, India discovers a trail of dark secrets that lead back to Philip, secrets that ultimately may hold the key to her freedom. If only he will believe her.

my thoughtsThis wonderful Southern/Gothic mystery will intrigue and captivate readers from the very first sentence – “Gunfire exploded to the right of the stage, a burst of sound that temporarily deafened her.”  And just like that, we’re in the middle of the action and stunned by the unexpected turn of events.  Almost before we know it, India has been whisked away for her protection to St. Simon’s Island by a mysterious and handsome lawyer who says he’s been paid to represent her.  We aren’t with her long at Indigo Point before we realize that this “safe haven” may not be all that safe after all.

With more questions around every corner – questions that pile up on top of the increasing tension surrounding India’s upcoming trial – readers will find themselves completely engrossed by this Eyre-esque tale.  Just about the time I thought I had it figured out, Dorothy Love threw me another curve by way of a masterful plot twist (or five) and I was back at square one. Not that I’m complaining, mind you 🙂

The romantic element to the book didn’t necessarily “wow” me – it was sweetly done if a little contrived but I was too caught up in the mystery to pay it too much mind.  It simply stayed in the background most of the time – neither detracting from nor adding to the plot – and that was fine.

Because the main character is a popular stage actress, readers of Dorothy Love’s latest book get a bit of a peek into historic theater practices.  I particularly found fascinating the insights into the ingredients of greasepaint pigments and the origin of a term we use so often nowadays – stealing the limelight.  Do you know why that phrase began to be used? Or what “limelight” even is? I didn’t – but I do now 🙂

Thomas Nelson Publishers have traditionally published Christian fiction, but I would classify A Respectable Actress more as “clean” than “Christian”.  That needn’t be a mark against Thomas Nelson or A Respectable Actress.  Not everything has to have a blatant spiritual element to it – sometimes, it’s enough to know you are reading a well-written & riveting story without having to dodge frequent outbursts of profanity or hide your eyes from scantily clad shenanigans.

Bottom Line: A Respectable Actress is a respectable gothic mystery set in antebellum Savannah and the outlying islands. Dorothy Love has captured with exquisite tension the plight of one young woman whose world is upended with a single script change.  From the stage – where nothing is as it seems – to a remote island – where no one is as they seem – readers will be caught up in the suspense and intrigue.  Recommended for fans of Jane Eyre, Tamera Alexander, and Jane Nickerson.

(I received a copy of this book in exchange for only my honest review.)

purple4

Purchase a copy: http://bit.ly/1MUVRqX

See what others are saying: http://litfusegroup.com/author/dlove

giveaway blue

I have two (2) paperback copies of A Respectable Actress to give away – one each to two lucky winners! (US only) To enter, simply leave a comment on this post answering the question below. For extra entries, follow my blog (readingismysuperpower) and/or share this giveaway on social media (facebook/twitter/Pinterest/etc). **Make sure you let me know in another comment what you did to qualify for extra entries!** (You can follow my blog by entering your email address in the box in the top left of this page or by clicking “follow” with your wordpress or twitter accounts.) Winner will be chosen by Random.org on Saturday November 7th after 10pm EST and notified by email. If I don’t hear from you within a week, a new winner will be chosen. Good luck and thanks for reading!!

Giveaway Entry Question:

What is your favorite stage play or musical?

dorothy loveAbout the Author: 

A native of west Tennessee, Dorothy Love makes her home in the Texas hill country with her husband and their golden retriever. An award-winning author of numerous young adult novels, Dorothy made her adult debut with the Hickory Ridge novels. When she isn’t busy writing or researching her next book, Love enjoys hiking, traveling, and hanging out with her husband Ron and their rambunctious golden retriever. The Loves make their home in the Texas hill country.
Find Dorothy online: website, Twitter, Facebook

Carrie

29 Responses to “Review (Plus a Giveaway!): A Respectable Actress by Dorothy Love ***CLOSED***”

  1. Loraine N.

    I was privileged enough to see Yul Brenner perform “The King and I” on the stage, so that stage play has always held a special meaning for me. I am looking forward to reading Dorothy’s book.

  2. Loraine N.

    I am a follower of your blog and have shared this on Pinterest and Twitter. Thanks for the great review and giveaway!

  3. Abby Breuklander

    This book sounds amazing!! I would love to see Phantom of the Opera onstage, I’ve seen the movie numerous times. Hopefully someday!! 🙂

  4. splashesofjoy

    Phantom of the Opera is my choice to see one day too!
    And thanks for the giveaway. I would love to have this book.
    Blessings. Joy
    ibjoy1953(at) yahoo dot com

    • Carrie

      The hiiiiiiills are aliiiiiive with the sound of muuuuuuusiiiiic – it’s one of mine too 🙂

  5. Nancy M

    The Sound of Music! I need to get to the theater to see some plays! This sounds great and set in a beautiful area of my home state! I follow your blog, shared on Facebook and follow you on Twitter, Pinterest and Facebook.

  6. tlrosado

    I have only seen a few stage musicals, but by far my favorite is Oklahoma. That might not be the thinking persons likely choice, cut I love the songs in that production. I saw it as a young girl and I can remember many of the lyrics to this day. My love of romance started very early. 😉