Review: Vendetta (Nikki Boyd Files #1) by Lisa Harris

November 9, 2015 Christian, contemporary, mystery/suspense, romance 3

vendettaNo one needs to push Nikki Boyd to excel on the Tennessee Missing Persons Task Force. The case of her own missing sister, still unsolved after ten years, is the driving force in her work. When a Polaroid photo of a missing girl shows up at a crime scene, Nikki quickly recognizes similarities to the past. The closer she gets to the abductor, the more she feels this case has become personal, and she is not the hunter . . . but the hunted.

With this explosive first book in The Nikki Boyd Files, award-winning author Lisa Harris takes you on a fast-paced pursuit of justice that will have you holding your breath until the heart-stopping finish.

I. Love. Romantic Suspense.  It’s by far my favorite genre. And while Vendetta doesn’t have much in the way of kissing, the romantic tension is so good! Lisa Harris has done a marvelous job of setting up the series, the characters, and the romantic subplot that will carry through the other books.  The romantical tension wasn’t resolved at all in this first book but rather built slowly and left open great possibilities!! Possibilities which I am much looking forward to 😀

The case played out like a TV show – harrowing action, intense questioning, psychological back-and-forth with suspects.  One of my friends (and a fellow reviewer) Kav over at Best Reads said that it reminded her of the show Without a Trace. YES! That’s exactly what it’s like! And seeing as how that was one of my fave shows, I very much enjoyed reading Vendetta. (By the way, go check out Kav’s blog for a chance to win a copy of Vendetta!)

Bottom Line: If you love FBI/police/missing persons TV shows, then you are going to LOVE Lisa Harris’ newest series and the first book, Vendetta. Her main character – Nikki Boyd – has depth and dimension and heart, and both her back story and her personality will have you in her corner by the end of the first chapter.  Not to mention the man who loves her – or is it men, plural? Guess you’ll just have to check Vendetta out for yourself 😉 Highly recommended for fans of Irene Hannon, Lynette Eason, Patricia Bradley, Janice Cantore or just a general fan of the suspense genre.  If you don’t care for a lot of romance with your suspense, this book will be great  for you.  If you, like me, luuuuv your kissing books, never fear! The potential for upcoming kisses is there in spades!!!

(I received a copy of this book in exchange for only my honest review.)

purple4

lisa harrisAbout the Author:

Award-winning author of nineteen novels and novellas, Lisa Harris lives with her husband and one of their three children in Mozambique, Africa, where they work as church-planting missionaries. Their other two children are “spread around the globe”.  When she’s not busy writing or home schooling, she loves traveling, cooking different ethnic foods, and photographing animals and birds in the African bush.

Connect with Lisa online at her website and her blog.

Carrie

3 Responses to “Review: Vendetta (Nikki Boyd Files #1) by Lisa Harris”

  1. rbclibrary

    I liked this book a lot as well. Harris has become a go-to author for me for romantic suspense. I liked the slow build-up of romance in this one — so much more realistic that the love found in 2 or 3 days of intense emotional and physical trauma ;). Thanks for your review.

Leave a Reply