Review: Intertwined by Jennifer Slattery

December 18, 2015 Christian, contemporary, Jennifer Slattery, romance 3

intertwinedAbandoned by her husband for another woman, Tammy Kuhn, an organ procurement coordinator often finds herself in tense and bitter moments. After an altercation with a doctor and too much trouble finding childcare, she is fighting to keep her job and her sanity when one late night she encounters her old flame Nick. She walks right into his moment of facing an unthinkable tragedy. Because they both have learned to find eternal purposes in every event and encounter, it doesn’t take long to discover that their lives are intertwined but the ICU is no place for romance….or is it? Could this be where life begins again?

Intertwined, part of New Hope Publisher’s contemporary fiction line, is a great reminder of how God can turn our greatest tragedies and failures into beautiful acts of love and grace. Readers will fall in love with the realistic characters and enjoy the combination of depth, heart-felt emotion and humor that makes Jennifer’s novels so appealing. Readers will be inspired to find God in every moment and encounter in their own lives!

This book is a great resource for a book club, discussion group in women’s Bible studies, or as a ministry resource to spark conversation about practical ministry needs.

New Hope Publishers | September 2015

add to goodreads   amazon button

What an incredibly sweet and touching novel!

Have you ever had one of those years where every time you turn around something else punches you in the gut and sucks the air right out of you? One of those weeks? One of those days?  If that season of life left you searching for an anchor, this book is a great place to start!

In Intertwined, Jennifer Slattery tackles some emotional issues, some tough issues.  The kind of things that make people question their faith and turn on those closest to them. She doesn’t candy-coat the reality of organ donation, infidelity, or divorce – along with some other tear-jerkers that serve as plot twists so I won’t spoil them here.  Yet, despite the “heavy”, Jennifer grace-fully weaves an exquisite thread of “sweet” between the pages.  One that wraps you up in a cozy embrace and whispers in your ear that you are loved and safe.

Tammy was my favorite character – a bit frazzled in spite of her best efforts to stay otherwise, a sweet but bruised heart, and forced to juggle the demands of her job with the demands of single parenting.  On top of all of that, her parents are adding to her stress by being um… clearly well meaning … but over-the-top interfering. I mean – wow.  At first I thought Tammy’s mom reminded me of mine but NOT after a certain point lol. Goodness.

Nick was another favorite (I’m sure no one is surprised), and I so admired his desire to do the right thing and fight for it.  He was dealt some impossible blows, and I thought Jennifer portrayed his grief and emotion very realistically.

intertwined quoteIn fact, that was one of the things I liked most about the book – while both Tammy & Nick were Christians, they certainly weren’t perfect.  They snapped at people. They got stressed.  They worried.  They struggled with bitterness and anger.  They avoided people that they should have befriended.  This was very refreshing to me because I’m certainly not perfect either. (My family is shocked, I’m sure!) I could relate to these characters because they approached life and faith the way I do.

Bottom Line: You will cry. Let’s just get that out of the way.  But you will also smile and maybe even swoon a little from time to time.  Jennifer Slattery’s delightful writing voice tells a poignant story focused on eternity, a story that both comforts and gently convicts.  The romance thread flows just below the surface – in the background but sweetly evident when needed.  Perfect for readers who aren’t too into “romancy” books but just want a good story.  Highly recommend for fans of Katie Ganshert or Deborah Raney.  Would make a great book club read!

(I received a copy of this book in exchange for only my honest review.)

My Review: 4 stars / Loved it!

KissingBook Level: 2 / Warm, rosy internal glow of sweetness

jen slatteryAbout the Author: 

Jennifer Slattery is an inspiring contemporary novelist whose stories of hope, love and grace resonate with real people. She writes Intertwined with authenticity as a result of her husband becoming an organ donor. She also writes Christian Living articles for Crosswalk.com and devotions for her personal blog, JenniferSlatteryLivesOutLoud; Internet Cafe Devotions; and Takin’ it to the Streets’, a ministry serving Omaha Metro’s working poor and homeless. When not writing, she enjoys hanging out with her teenage daughter and real-life hero husband, as well as serving in her church. You can find more info about her books at New Hope Publishers.

Connect with Jennifer at:

facebook  twitter  pinterest

Carrie

3 Responses to “Review: Intertwined by Jennifer Slattery”

  1. Discount Alert | Jennifer Slattery Lives Out Loud

    […] “What an incredibly sweet and touching novel! … Bottom Line: You will cry. Let’s just get that out of the way.  But you will also smile and maybe even swoon a little from time to time.  Jennifer Slattery’s delightful writing voice tells a poignant story focused on eternity, a story that both comforts and gently convicts.  The romance thread flows just below the surface – in the background but sweetly evident when needed.  Perfect for readers who aren’t too into “romancy” books but just want a good story.  Highly recommend for fans of Katie Ganshert or Deborah Raney.  Would make a great book club read!” ~Reading is My Superpower […]

Leave a Reply