Book Review: No One’s Bride by Nerys Leigh

November 7, 2016 Christian, historical, Nerys Leigh, romance 7

book review RIMSP

about the book

A mail order bride with no intention of marrying, a young postmaster determined to change her mind.

It’s 1870 and Amy Watts needs help, money, and to get as far away from New York City as possible, and her only hope is to answer an advertisement for a mail order bride. The last thing she wants, however, is a husband.

When her plan to trick the postmaster of the small Californian town of Green Hill Creek into paying her way across the country goes awry, her guilty conscience compels her to stay and find a way to repay him the cost of the train ticket. The trouble is, she’s completely unprepared for the effect of Adam Emerson’s kindness, charm, wit, and ridiculously blue eyes.

As her dream of a new life in San Francisco begins to falter and her past catches up with her, can Amy hold onto the one thing she never thought she’d want, but now can’t bear to lose?

goodreads button RIMSP

SERIES: Escape to the West #1
GENRE: Historical Romance
PUBLISHER: Nerys Leigh
RELEASE DATE: August 29, 2016
PAGES: 265

“It’s all right to trust, as long as you trust the right people.”

no-ones-bride-book-reviewNo One’s Bride by Nerys Leigh is a sweet mail-order bride romance ideal for fans of Mary Connealy, Kelly Eileen Hake or Melissa Jagears. There’s humor and romance and faith and even a little suspense in this debut novel, providing a little something for everyone.

I loved Adam, the hero in this book. He’s a little bit awkward when it comes to Amy (which just makes him even more adorable), and he’s a whole lot sincere when it comes to honoring and respecting her (which just makes him even more adore-able). His chivalry is swoonworthy and his quiet-but-lived-out faith is equally so.

Another of my favorite characters is George, the livery owner. I can’t go into too much detail about why I love George because I don’t want to spoil anything for you… but let’s just say that my heart melted all over itself on Amy’s second day of work. And the storyline with Amy and Clementine really paralleled Adam’s relationship with Amy too.

This is the first in a series that follows the other mail order brides that arrived with Amy. As such, we are treated to teasers of what their stories may hold, but only as seen through Amy’s eyes. And the author knows how to get my curiosity up – revealing that the girls are all having a chat to catch up but then… WE DON’T GET TO READ IT YET. Argh. lol. I must read the next books. Must.

Bottom Line: Lots of giggles to be had in this cute debut novel, as well as moments that may leave you a bit teary-eyed. Not to mention the romantical moments when you may need to break out your fan. The author’s good natured sense of humor peeks through on each page, without overwhelming the story, and I loved her end notes where she admits that yeah, the spellings are British because she is too and she hopes that doesn’t offend us as we read this American western. Haha!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book from this author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4 stars / Really sweet book!

KissingBook Level: 3+ / You WILL forget to breathe eventually

amazon button RIMSP

Only $0.99 or FREE with Kindle Unlimited!

about the author

nerys-leigh

Nerys Leigh writes thoroughly romantic Christian historical love stories. She loves heroes who are strong but sweet and heroines who are willing to fight for the life they want.

She’s from the UK, which you would think puts her in a unique position to not write about mail order brides in the American west, but the old adage of writing what you know has never appealed to her. She has an actual American read each book before publishing to make sure she hasn’t gone all English on it.

Nerys can be found relaxing and generally enjoying the view at her website and Facebook.

What about you? Why do you think we enjoy mail order bride romances so much?

Carrie

7 Responses to “Book Review: No One’s Bride by Nerys Leigh”

  1. Andrea Stephens

    Oooh! Oooh! I just downloaded this book today! Before I read your review. Now I really want to read it! I’m a bit sappy when it comes to M.O.B. books. Kind of like Hallmark movies.
    I think we like Mail Order Bride books because they usually involve a giant leap into the unknown (we would never do such a thing.) There’s usually something the woman needs to escape from or some reason a handsome man needs a wife. We have hope that they will fall in love and have a happy ending and we enjoy watching the process.
    It’s so different than what most of us experience when finding our spouse. Of course, we know that real life mail order bride stories didn’t always work out, there wasn’t a lot of romance. That’s why these are called fiction. Still love them though 🙂

  2. Rebecca Maney

    I downloaded it before I read your review as well. It seems that I made a great choice! Thanks Carrie!

  3. Andrea Stephens

    I LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! this book!
    I loved Adam and Amy…but George I adore. Grumpy but sweet underneath.

Leave a Reply