Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Love in the Seams by Jodie Wolfe

November 11, 2016 Christian, giveaway, historical, Jodie Wolfe, romance 19

about the book

Mae Stafford longs for the companionship and unconditional love her sister has found in her new husband. But after years of refusing potential suitors because of a pact they made as children, Mae no longer has any choices left once their agreement is broken. She’s given up hope that God will give her what she desires most, a family of her own. Instead of dwelling on what she doesn’t have, she throws herself into her work as the recent sole owner of the local dress shop.

As a promise made to his late wife, Johannes Mueller agrees to travel west to be a school teacher in Calder Springs, Texas, away from the bigotry associated with being an immigrant in New York City. He hopes to improve his life and forget his loss. Johannes isn’t counting on his five-year-old daughter’s search for a new mother when they arrive. His little LillyAnn finds ways to bring the seamstress and him together…often. Can he learn to embrace his German heritage and unlock his heart to love again?

goodreads button RIMSP

SERIES: Twins and Needles #2
GENRE: Christian Historical Romance
PUBLISHER: Jodie Wolfe
RELEASE DATE: November 4, 2016
PAGES: 97

Other Books In This Series

“Will you be my new mama?”

love-in-the-seams-book-reviewLove in the Seams is a quick, sweet read sure to appeal to fans of Janette Oke and Tracie Peterson. LillyAnn is the star of the show – her adorable personality wins hearts wherever she goes and watching her with Mae is especially sweet. Johannes is quite appealing in his own right, and once he knows his heart, watch out!

Throughout the novella, the theme of trusting God’s timing complements the story and acts as a gentle reminder for all of us, not just the characters. All three of them – Johannes, LillyAnn, and Mae – have been through tragedies that anyone would hope desperately to avoid, but now all three of them are standing on the cusp of something wonderful. Not only do they have to continue to trust God’s timing in their past, they also have to trust Him with their future.

Bottom Line:  Love in the Seams weaves a cozy and heartwarming story with a dash of romance and a whole lot of cuteness named LillyAnn.  It’s a great choice for an evening read, especially when you need an uplifting story to make you smile!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author via Celebrate Lit Tours. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 3.5 stars / Sweet story!!

KissingBook Level: 3 / Once he starts planting kisses on Mae, watch out!

amazon button RIMSP

about the author

jodie-wolfe

Jodie Wolfe creates novels where hope and quirky meet. She’s been a semi-finalist and finalist in various writing contests and is a member of ACFW. When not writing she enjoys spending time with her husband in Pennsylvania, reading, walking, and being a Grammie. Learn more at www.jodiewolfe.com

from the author

I’m so excited to be a part of a Celebrate Lit tour. Thank you for the opportunity to give a small peek into my world. 🙂 Love in the Seams is book two in my Twins & Needles series. Mae Stafford’s journey to believe and have hope that God will give her the desires of her heart echo the ups and downs of my writing adventure.

I wrote my first novel as a teen quite a number of years ago. Ahem. We won’t say how many years that have passed since then. 🙂 Let’s just say it’s quite a few. My next novel didn’t get written until my early twenties…and then soon after I had children. Fiction writing took a back seat as I raised my sons and home schooled them all the way through high school.

Over seven years ago I felt God nudging me back to writing. I still had a son at home, so the progress was a little slow at first. Since then I’ve written four novels, three novellas, and have pitched a half dozen other ideas at various conferences or through my amazing agent.

God dropped my agent, Linda S. Glaz of Hartline Literary Agency, into my lap when I least expected it, but that’s a different story. I’ve had quite a number of rejections over the past few years as she’s tried to drum up interest for my books. We’ve had some nibbles and times when an editor or two was interested, but things didn’t progress any further than that.

I’ve entered contests and have experienced mixed results. I semi-finaled in American Christian Fiction Writer’s Genesis contest a few years ago, and this past summer I found out I’m a finalist in three different contests. But there also have been quite a few where the responses weren’t so great.

Earlier this year I decided to put out a novella independently and Hearts Tightly Knit was the result. It told the tale of Mae’s twin sister, Ellie, and their pact to always stay together and never marry. When Ellie ended up with her happily-ever-after, I knew that Mae needed one too. The only thing is Mae isn’t sure if her hopes for a family will ever come to fruition.

Highs and lows are part of a writer’s life. Well, actually for all of us. 🙂 Sometimes it’s easy to get bogged down in the negatives, the ‘rejections’ and not be able to see past them. Believe me, at times I wallow there for a little bit, but my aim is to write books that share about the hope we have in Christ. How can I convey that if I don’t believe and experience it myself?

One of my favorite verses is Hebrews 11:1 (HCSB) which says, “Now faith is the reality of what is hoped for, the proof of what is not seen.” One of the things I have hoped for many years was a writing contract. That finally happened in September when I signed for a novelette with Celebrate Lit that will be coming out in the spring. In the process of waiting, I’ve found God has refined and honed me in this journey of hope.

My prayer is that my books will touch your heart and give you a glimmer of the hope we have in Christ. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity into your world.

giveaway RIMSP

In honor of her tour, Jodie is giving away a wooden decorated basket, a 24 thread spools with needles and threader, a pack of 30 needles, a tape measure, a tomato pin cushion, embroidery scissors, a thimble, 15 piece sewing kit, and a $10 Amazon gift card!

love-in-the-seams-giveaway

Use the form below to enter; be sure to comment on this post to claim your nine bonus entries for this giveaway!

Click here to view this promotion.

Follow along with the Celebrate Lit Blog Tour for more chances to win!

What about you? Do you sew? Or, like me, are you stymied by threading the stupid bobbin? 😉

Carrie

19 Responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Love in the Seams by Jodie Wolfe”

  1. Jodie Wolfe

    LOL. I admit to some struggles of my own when it comes to threading bobbins. 🙂

    Thank you for your sweet review, Carrie. I’m truly blessed to have you feature me here today.

    • Carrie

      haha ok good, i’m not the only one 😉 My pleasure, Jodie!! Looking forward to your novelette

  2. Winnie Thomas

    I used to sew a lot but rarely make it past mending now. With all the stores, sales, discount places, etc. it’s not as economical to sew now. In fact, most of the time, it’s less expensive to buy ready-made clothing. I sewed a lot of my clothing in high school and college and into married life. I also made a lot of my kids’ clothes when they were young and even a wedding dress and some prom and bridesmaids’ dresses. Ah, to be young and motivated again!

    Jodie, your novella looks like a great read. Good luck in your writing! 🙂

    • Jodie Wolfe

      Thanks, Winnie. 🙂

      Sounds like you are quite an accomplished seamstress. I’ve made a bit through the years, but not so much lately.

  3. Elma brooks

    I love to sew grew up making my own dresses,in home economics class,

    • Carrie

      i have the utmost respect for you! If i had to do that, i would not have any clothing 🙂 lol

    • Jodie Wolfe

      Thanks, Winnie. 🙂

      Sounds like you are quite an accomplished seamstress. I’ve made a bit through the years, but not so much lately.

  4. Rebecca Maney

    I often need a light, encouraging read at the end of a long day and this sounds like a good choice. I don’t sew, really, except buttons and tears, but I still have the little pink sewing basket that I was given as a child after taking sewing lessons.

  5. Yvette-Bookworlder

    I used to sew a lot and made extra money sewing bridesmaid dresses but now I just do mending or
    make the occasional small gift (mainly name banners). But bobbins? They are part of what is stopping me from using the treadle my grandmother gave me. Slightly intimidated by it, for some reason.