Book Review (and a Giveaway!): So Rare a Gift by Amber Lynn Perry

December 22, 2016 Amber Lynn Perry, Christian, giveaway, historical, romance 38

book review RIMSP

about the book

so rare a giftEscape is Anna Rone’s only option. Never again will she be trapped in a loveless marriage. A new life in America means safety—and discovering the truth behind her beloved brother’s death. But when she is nearly captured and forced to return to England, her vow to never marry for anything but love is forgotten when she must marry for protection. Perhaps the handsome man she accepts is truly as caring as he seems. If he is not, her future in America is darker than ever before.

Captain Henry Donaldson aided the colonists too many times. And now, the British army intends to make him pay with his life. Without his friends in Sandwich, he would be a dead man. He’s already changed his name, and when the kind, courageous woman he rescued offers to become his bride, he accepts despite the risks. His past taught him that women are not to be trusted and that love can cut deeper than the sword. Only time will reveal if this choice will bring the greatest pain he’s ever known

goodreads button RIMSP

SERIES: Daughters of His Kingdom #3
GENRE: Inspirational Historical Fiction
PUBLISHER: Liberty Publishing
RELEASE DATE: July 3, 2016
PAGES: 329

Other Books In This Series

“We must live truth. Fearlessly.”

so-rare-a-gift-book-reviewOhhhh my friends!! If you enjoy reading about Colonial America and you have not discovered Amber Lynn Perry’s books yet, you are seriously missing out! If you love a good marriage-of-convenience plot, no matter the setting, then you must hasten to get your hands on a copy of her latest novel, So Rare A Gift.

Hasten.

Because while So Rare A Gift is rich with setting and history, Henry’s and Anna’s story is timeless and Perry’s writing captivates. Her skillful turn of a phrase conveys poignant depth of meaning in a few poetically-placed words, and her sense of timing is perfection. Fans of Laura Frantz, Lori Benton and Michelle Griep will feel right at home in the pages of Amber Lynn Perry’s books.

Henry and Anna are thrust into a marriage of convenience after the intersection of their respective escapes from their respective pursuers. Tensions are high between them – as they adjust to each other – and around them – as they and their friends gear up to resist the British. And of course, they both remain on guard for fear of discovery. Taking on their new identities – their new lives – is not as easy as they would hope and here Perry injects into the story  touches of humor as well as moments of fantastic romantic chemistry.

Speaking of chemistry… when Henry/William thinks to himself “Hang the party” because he’s smooching Anna quite passionately and he’d rather stay home and “experiment on the desires that roared inside him“… I may have had to break out my fan! You’ll have to read it for context, but Henry makes a quite yummy leading man. Just sayin 🙂  And this line – “In that look, that moment, he said a hundred things…” had me swooning all over again for different reasons.

And that last chapter? For this book, make sure you have both your fan and a trusty handkerchief nearby.

“…you once said that there will come a time when we will be called upon to act in defense of the cause we believe in. That time has come, and we were made for it.”

Bottom Line: You need this book in your life. Particularly if you are first in line to buy Laura Frantz’s or Lori Benton’s books. (Side note: You can certainly this book as a stand-alone, but you will probably best appreciate it when read in the context of the previous two novels in this series.) In So Rare A Gift, Amber Lynn Perry takes a tumultuous period in history, a handful of heroes, a marriage of convenience, and a bad guy in need of some serious anger management and she weaves them beautifully into an exquisite story of hope and freedom and courage.  Inspiring us all to live truth fearlessly, these characters will be with me for a while yet to come.

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 5 stars / Fantastic!

KissingBook Level: 4 / Keep that fan handy!

amazon button RIMSP

about the author

amber-lynn-perry

A Pacific Northwest native, Amber Lynn Perry lives in Washington state with her husband and two daughters. She studied humanities at Portland State University and graduated with a Bachelor’s degree focused on art history. As a homeschooling mom, Amber spends much of her time teaching everything from Shakespeare to science.

When she isn’t crafting with her kids, making dinner or driving to dance classes, Amber is either reading or writing about her favorite time in American history. The Revolutionary era has captured her imagination from the time she was in middle school. Through her books, Amber hopes to not only give readers a glimpse into the past, but to instill in them a lasting love of liberty.

website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

giveaway RIMSP

Amber is giving away an ebook set of the first three books in the Daughters of His Kingdom series!!

Comment on this review by answering the question below and then head over to my interview with Amber Lynn Perry to claim 5 extra entries on the Rafflecopter form!

**Comments only count as entries if you claim them on the Rafflecopter form!**

Question to answer:

What intrigues you most about this story? The marriage-of-convenience plot or the history?

Carrie

38 Responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): So Rare a Gift by Amber Lynn Perry”

  1. Alison Boss

    I love historical Christian fiction and this book sounds right up my alley. You totally swept me away into the intrigue of this book with your review! I can’t wait to read “So Rare a Gift’! Thanks for your AWESOME review!!!

    • Alison Boss

      Oops! Sorry Carrie, I got so taken up with your review, that I forgot to answer your question…lol. I think I am more intrigued with the marriage-of-convenience plot. You have me thoroughly curious now after reading your review 🙂 ~ Alison

    • Amber Perry

      Alison!! I’m so glad you stopped by and especially that SRAG sounds like something you would like! I hope you get a chance to read it and if you do, that you’ll really enjoy it!

  2. Marilyn

    The history because I love reading and learning as much as I can on the subject. Marriages of convenience can work out and the parties involved can eventually fall in love over time.
    Marilyn

    • Carrie

      lots of great history here – and lots of characters to be proud of as they take on the courageous roles of patriots against the British!

    • Amber Perry

      Hey Marilyn!! I *LOVE* history, too!!! If you read this book I hope enjoy the time period and the history woven through. Thank you again and Merry Christmas!

  3. Terrill Rosado

    You are a reading ninja, Carrie! I can’t keep up, but I will forever try.

    I love, love, love the marriage-of-convenience romance trope. I had no idea this third book contains that trope, since I need to read the second in the series. I’m excited, though. The MOC trope is a fave, because the enjoyment is watching how they overcome the obstacles to a HEA. Sometimes with angst and sometimes with humor. Enemies-to-lovers is another fave that I find sometimes follows similar HEA paths as MOC. There’s just so much writing potential with those two romance tropes.

    • Carrie

      oh i so agree!!!! There’s so much great delicious tension in either of those tropes!

    • Amber Perry

      Good evening, Terrill!! Thank you for stopping by! I do love MOC!! <3 Swoon. 😉 LOL I had so much fun writing that into this story–it just fit the characters perfectly! If you get a chance to read the story, I really hope you'll enjoy it!

      • Terrill Rosado

        Amber, I’m on the second book in the series, not yet reading, but soon. I already own the third book, so I’m set. 🙂 I tend to go into books blind, not wanting to know too much, so I was completely unaware of the MOC trope in So Rare a Gift.

  4. Susan P

    Oh it would have to be both! I love it when a story is so rich in history that I feel like I am with the characters back in time.

    • Amber Perry

      Hi, Susan!!! I feel that exact same way! I love to be swept away to a different time! I hope you can read SRAG someday and when you do, I hope you enjoy it!

  5. Sonnetta Jones

    I love the quote about the time has come and we are made for it. I want to find out what they are made for. These are the things that intrigue me.

    Sonnetta_jones(at)hotmail(dot)com

  6. Amber Perry

    OK, I am really speechless over this, Carrie! Thank you for taking the time to read it, and thank you even more for such a beautiful review! I wish there was a way for me to more fully express how much it means to me!! Sending you TONS of hugs and fangirling squeels of gratitude!! <3

  7. carylkane

    Merry Christmas Carrie and Amber!

    This series sounds awesome! Love the historical aspect.

  8. Jackie McNutt

    I love both aspects of the story.
    I am looking for to reading this series soon. Thank You for the giveaway.

  9. Debbie Clatterbuck

    I am intrigued by history and romance makes it all the better. This book sounds right up my alley. Thanks for the giveaway and good luck everyone.

  10. Carolsue

    I think the idea of a marriage of convenience intrigues me the most for some reason.

  11. Connie Scruggs

    I really love historical fiction, so the history intrigues me most. But, a good marriage of convenience romance is always welcome, too. I guess I can’t pick one over the other.