Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Finding Our Forever by Brenda Novak

March 28, 2017 Brenda Novak, contemporary, giveaway, romance 2

book review RIMSP

about the book

New York Times bestselling author Brenda Novak welcomes readers to the town of Silver Springs, where surprises wait around every corner!

The search for her birth mother brought Cora Kelly to the New Horizons Boys Ranch. Getting a job there was easy enough, but confiding in Aiyana, the ranch’s owner, that she’s really her daughter? Cora’s not sure she can do that, not unless she’s confident the news will be welcomed. And once she gets to know Elijah Turner—Aiyana’s adopted son and ranch manager—that decision becomes even more difficult.

Although Elijah can’t deny his deep attraction to Cora, he’s always struggled with trust. Anyone with his past would, and there’s something about the ranch’s newest employee that isn’t exactly as it seems. But if the feelings she awakes in his guarded heart are any indication, she might be just what he’s long been waiting for.

goodreads button RIMSP

SERIES: Silver Springs #1
GENRE: Contemporary Romance
PUBLISHER: Harlequin Special Edition
RELEASE DATE: March 21, 2017
PAGES: 224

‘I like being with you,’ he said as if it was a revelation, because it was.

Finding Our Forever is a romance, yes, but it’s also a story of overcoming the worst of the worst and learning to trust someone else with your heart. It’s a story of letting your past refine you, rather than define you. And it’s a story about the difference we can make in even just one person that feels truly loved.

Eli suffered horrible abuse at the hands of the people who were supposed to love him, so naturally his heart stays pretty closed off to being vulnerable. Cora is on a quest to learn more about her birth mother, and her attraction to Eli complicates matters – especially considering that he’s the birth mother’s adopted son.  I have to admit that I had to separate that last fact out and quarantine it while I read their story.  Cora and Eli falling in love is sweet and full of emotion as they each learn to trust the other with their heart, but considering that they were technically brother and sister for all intents and purposes? Though not blood related, it still was too icky for me.

One thing I really liked in this story was how the characters involved handled Cora’s truth-concealing when it was finally revealed. I can’t say much more without giving away spoilers, but suffice it to say that I was proud of all involved and relieved that I didn’t have to go in and purse-whomp anyone 😉

Bottom Line: With likable characters and a compelling storyline, Finding Our Forever tugs at the heart. Great for fans of Susan Mallery or RaeAnne Thayne, it’s a sweet and sizzling romance with an inspiring plot. Eli especially works his way in to your heart, and you’ll find yourself rooting for a happily ever after!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

Reviewer’s Note: Readers need to be aware that there is some mild language in this book, as well as scenes of an intimate nature that were more graphic than I usually review here. (I was not aware of these scenes when I agreed to review the book)

My Rating: 3.5 stars / Good read!

KissingBook Level: 5 / Stick your head in the freezer (but please see reviewer’s note)

amazon button RIMSP B&N button RIMSP

Books-A-Million

about the author

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Brenda Novak has penned over 45 novels. A two-time Rita nominee, she’s won The National Reader’s Choice, The Bookseller’s Best, The Bookbuyer’s Best and many other awards. She runs an annual online auction for diabetes research every May at www.brendanovak.com. To date, she’s raised over $2 million. Brenda considers herself lucky to be a mother of five and married to the love of her life.

website | Facebook | Twitter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow along with the TLC book tour for a list of blog stops!

Carrie

2 Responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Finding Our Forever by Brenda Novak”

Leave a Reply