Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep

Posted June 20, 2018 by meezcarrie in Christian, giveaway, historical, Michelle Griep, romance / 25 Comments


about the book

SERIES: Daughters of the Mayflower #3
GENRE: Inspirational Historical Romance
PUBLISHER: Barbour Books
RELEASE DATE: June 1, 2018
PAGES: 256

A war-torn countryside is no place for a lady—but Mercy Lytton is a lady like none other. Raised amongst the Mohawks, she straddles two cultures, yet each are united in one cause . . . to defeat the French. Born with a rare gift of unusually keen eyesight, she is chosen as a scout to accompany a team of men on a dangerous mission. Yet it is not her life that is threatened. It is her heart.

Condemned as a traitor, Elias Dubois faces the gallows. At the last minute, he’s offered his freedom if he consents to accompany a stolen shipment of French gold to a nearby fort—but he’s the one they stole it from in the first place. It turns out that the real thief is the beguiling woman, Mercy Lytton, for she steals his every waking thought.

Can love survive divided loyalties in a backcountry wilderness?

goodreads button RIMSP

Other Books In This Series

 

“It is in the darkest skies we see the brightest stars.”

Michelle Griep continues to be one of my consistently favorite authors, especially when she delves into the time period of Colonial America. The Captured Bride is everything I have come to expect from a Griep novel – rich in setting and historical details, strong characters, and breath-stealing romance!

Mercy Lytton is a heroine not to be messed with – a woman with a compassionate heart and a skilled scout entrusted with the most dangerous of missions. A mission that includes Elias Dubois, a complex character in his own right and a condemned traitor with one last chance at freedom. In many cases, both Mercy and Elias walk a fine line between two worlds and watching them find common ground – and attraction – is truly a pleasure. Mutual respect, affection, and increasingly deeper feelings also walk a fine line between their cover (a married couple) and their reality, and Griep is masterful at conveying these tangled emotions with a look, a sigh, a thought.

In the middle of this swoony romance and the riveting struggle to complete their mission (and survive to tell the tale), a gentle and authentic thread of faith weaves seamlessly through the story. Elias’ faith is relatively new but strong, while Mercy has a basic knowledge without any heart roots. I loved watching her observe Elias and his relationship with God – and how those observations affected her own soul over the course of their journey.

“Clearly, he spoke to his God, and she got the distinct impression his God bent and listened with a keen ear.”

Duplicity on many sides, as well as danger around every corner, means their journey is at times, as I mentioned a moment ago, an all-out battle for survival. Griep has truly captured the treacherous nature of the time period, yet at the same time the adventure never overpowers the characters. Rather it acts to heighten their strengths and weaknesses, and above all points to the Savior who redeems.

Bottom Line: You will not want to put this book down! Adventure, romance, history, and faith all converge on a tumultuous era in American history to tell a story that will hold you captive from word one. Mercy and Elias and a cast of intriguing supporting characters keep you strongly invested in the outcome – and may even prompt you to do some historical research on your own. Perfect for fans of Laura Frantz and Lori Benton – and of Michelle Griep herself!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4.5 stars / love it!

KissingBook Level: 4 / Keep those fans and fainting couches handy!

amazon button RIMSP B&N button RIMSP

about the author

Michelle Griep’s been writing since she first discovered blank wall space and Crayolas. She is the author of historical romances: The Innkeeper’s Daughter, 12 Days at Bleakly Manor, The Captive Heart, Brentwood’s Ward, A Heart Deceived, Undercurrent and Gallimore, but also leaped the historical fence into the realm of contemporary with the zany romantic mystery Out of the Frying Pan. If you’d like to keep up with her escapades, find her at www.michellegriep.com or stalk her on Facebook, Twitter, or Pinterest.

Other Books by Michelle Griep



A Visit to Fort Niagara

The Captured bride guest post pictureWhether you’re a history buff or don’t have a clue what the French and Indian War was about, there’s a destination in upstate New York that’s fun to visit for the whole family . . .

My husband and I made the trek to this living history site last summer. I had no idea what to expect, other than what was advertised as a “reenactment camp.” For those who don’t know, this is when volunteers who adore history come together to present a particular event, such as a battle. These people usually choose a real person from the era upon whom they fashion their modern day persona. They dress, speak, eat and live as that person might have. Here I am with some of my new friends:

Generally around the 4th of July, the 1759 Battle of Fort Niagara is recreated in a 3-day extravaganza of soldiers, muskets, canons and an entire market place to peruse selling period-related items.

Some of the things that surprised me about stepping back into the mid-eighteenth century were:

  • How much smoke muskets kick out
  • Once the battle begins, it’s hard to see who is your enemy or ally
  • Canons are really loud
  • Everything wasn’t as black and white as it seems in pictures—gowns and uniforms were very colorful

What makes this event so spectacular is that they take the entire 20 day siege and condense it into 3 days. If you visit every day, you’ll see and experience exactly what happened. You’ll be there to see the British, Colonial regulars and Iroquois allies sneak out of the tree line to shoot at some French soldiers who were pigeon hunting just outside the fort. You’ll hear the war whoops and barrage of angry French epithets roaring on the air. You’ll even get a chance to taste some of their food as you wander around inside the French Encampment set up inside the fort walls.

To experience a bit of the danger, sights and sounds of what Mercy and Elias lived through in The Captured Bride, Fort Niagara really is a fantastic place to visit.

To celebrate her tour, Michelle is giving away a grand prize of a signed copy of The Captured Bride and a $25 Barnes & Noble gift card!! Click below to enter.

Click here to view this promotion.

This giveaway is hosted by Celebrate Lit, not RimSP
Follow along with the tour  for more chances to win!

What about you? What interests you most about this book?

Tags: , ,

25 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep

  1. Cathy

    I enjoy and have read a great deal of history, but I appreciate the extra background on this war

  2. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for your review on “The Captured Bride” by Michelle Griep and for being part of the book tour.

    This book is on my TBR list and I’d love the opportunity to read it – SOON!

  3. Janet Estridge

    We have the first book in the series in the church library.
    I would love to win “The Captured Bride” to be with it’s sister.

  4. Amy M.

    I’m curious as to why and how Mercy was raised among the Mohawks. I’ve enjoyed other books by Mrs. Griep (Brentwood’s Ward, The Captive Heart) so I’m anxious to read this one. Thanks for the opportunity to win it.

  5. Dianne Casey

    I really enjoy reading historical fiction and. I also visited Old Fort Niagara last fall. It was so interesting to see how the soldiers lived in Colonial times. Would love to read “The Captive Bride”.

  6. Brittaney B

    I’m a big fan of Michelle’s. A Captive Heart was one of my favorite reads last year. I’ve been looking forward to this latest release.

  7. Pam K.

    I really enjoy Michelle’s writing. The Captured Bride sounds like a book I’d really like since I love a good historical.

  8. Tracey Hagwood

    I loved The Captive Heart and now your great review of The Captured Bride has me wanting to read this one too!

  9. Jocelyn

    Thank you for the review. I’ve read Michelle’s books before, and loved them. This one sounds great!

Leave a Reply

Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.