Book Review: Sunrise Cabin by Stacey Donovan

Posted October 23, 2018 by meezcarrie in contemporary, romance, Stacey Donovan / 5 Comments


about the book

GENRE: Contemporary ‘Clean’ Romance
PUBLISHER: Hallmark Publishing
RELEASE DATE: September 16, 2018
PAGES: 346

“…a warm-hearted, tender story about characters you will love to meet and a setting you won’t want to leave. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to Sunrise Cabin!” –RaeAnne Thayne, New York Times bestselling author

Two very different people…
One very special place.

Dylan’s an overworked investment banker. Paige is a free-spirited first-grade teacher. From the first time they meet, these two opposites attract.

Meanwhile, the cabin Paige is renting has gone up for sale. She loves living there, and she just might be able to buy it—if she finally achieves her dream of selling her children’s stories. When she learns Dylan is also determined to buy the cabin, their new romance turns into a real estate rivalry.

Dylan could explain his own connection to the place…but that would mean opening up about his past. As his relationship with Paige goes from funny to touching, they both learn more about love and the true meaning of home.

This feel-good romance contains a free Hallmark original recipe for Maple Pecan Streusel Muffins With Cider Glaze.

goodreads button RIMSP

I’m so excited about Hallmark Publishing’s new line of original novels (as opposed to novelizations of their movies), and Sunrise Cabin is a great one to start with! Clean, cute, sweet and romantic – I highly recommend it!

The heroine Paige is just adorable, and I’d love to see her come to life on the screen at some point. Her fun spirit, generous heart and intentional gratefulness are incredibly endearing, and her enthusiasm for whatever she’s throwing herself into – whether it be cupcakes for her students, her books that she’s writing, or the relationships she’s in – is infectious. Dylan is just about exactly the opposite – driven to succeed, career-focused, money is no real object. Yet they do share strong values as well as a solid family support system, and each has a sentimental side.

However, it’s this sentimental side that sends their fledgling friendship into a patch of rough waters. Particularly as it relates to the cabin Paige is currently renting and hopes to buy. A cabin, I might add, that I would be hard pressed not to want for myself. The view, the sunrises, the history. I loved her daily ritual of gratitude – what a great way to start the day, thanking God for the blessings He’s given you. (Ok, she doesn’t really direct it to God in the book, but it was close enough for me lol)

Paige and Dylan’s romance is so sweet (sparks notwithstanding) – and I really appreciated their mutual respect for each other – and especially Dylan’s delight in experiencing life through Paige’s eyes. Their families and friends are also genuinely likable (with a couple of intended exceptions) and I’d love to hang out with this batch of characters again.

Bottom Line: A beautiful setting, endearing characters, a budding romance… all of these elements mix together to deliver a really enjoyable story from start to finish. Of course it’s not without its black moments, but these are handled with authenticity and believe-ability. The character growth in both Paige and Dylan warms the heart, and there are plenty of moments to swoon, grin, and giggle. Recommended for fans of Melissa Tagg, RaeAnne Thayne, and Debbie Macomber.

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4.5 stars / love it!

KissingBook Level: 3 / May forget to breathe on occasion

amazon button RIMSP B&N button RIMSP

about the author

Stacey Donovan grew up in central Illinois, earned her MFA in Creative Writing at the University of Arizona in Tucson, and was a Master Writer at Hallmark in Kansas City, where she wrote several gift books and children’s books. She now lives in Los Angeles with her husband and their three rescue dogs. A true optimist, she loves stories with happy endings, random acts of kindness, and adventures big and small. You can connect with her on Twitter: Twitter.com/donovanesque.

What about you? What interests you most about this book?

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Book Review: Sunrise Cabin by Stacey Donovan

  1. Veronica

    Hallmark Publishing – count me in! I love the cozy cabin and fall setting on the cover. Just bought it, so I’ll sit down and read this afternoon with pumpkin spice coffee.

  2. Kristin

    I’m so happy to see you review Sunrise Cabin! The Hallmark Publishing original novels are amazing so far!! Hope you check out more!

Leave a Reply