Book Review (and a Giveaway!): An Alaskan Proposal by Beth Carpenter

Posted January 21, 2019 by meezcarrie in Beth Carpenter, contemporary, giveaway, romance / 32 Comments



On Tour with Prism Book Tours

about the book

SERIES: Northern Lights #4
GENRE: Contemporary Clean Romance
PUBLISHER: Harlequin Heartwarming
RELEASE DATE: January 1, 2019
PAGES: 384

Can he teach her survival skills—

without endangering his heart?

When Sabrina Bell taps Leith Jordan for a crash course in conquering the great Alaskan outdoors, he figures he’s on safe ground. They’re polar opposites and his spectacular home state’s just a pit stop for the hotshot fashionista. So no one’s more surprised than Leith when he starts falling for her.

Now he’s a man with a plan: get Sabrina to fall in love with Alaska…and, hopefully, with him.

goodreads button RIMSP

Other Books In This Series

   

Anytime I have the chance to read another book by Beth Carpenter, I jump at the chance. Her characters are always well-defined and warm – including the state of Alaska which is a supporting character to this series (and appears warm-hearted in spite of the frigid temps). The breathtaking scenery is easy to grasp hold of with the imagination, and it only fuels my #lifegoal of visiting Alaska.

Another thing I love about Carpenter’s stories is the way her love of dogs shines through in the furry supporting characters she includes in each novel. In An Alaskan Proposal, Tal and Boomer – and their adorable friendship – completely stole the show. Carpenter gives dogs (these two in particular) the kind of human-like personalities that true dog owners know their pets possess and I grinned besottedly every time Tal & Boomer were on the page.

Speaking of grinning besottedly… Leith. I am not an outdoorsperson in any way, shape or (especially) form, yet Leith had me swooning all the same. From his can’t-help-himself dazzling grin to his big heart to his love for his family (including his precocious niece Emma) to the way he teaches kids first aid, I can easily see why Sabrina fell for him. And, in spite of her 1st-season-of-Friends-version-of-Rachel-Greene outward appearance, there’s a lot more to Sabrina on the inside and I can easily see why Leith falls so hard for her in spite of himself. In fact, Sabrina became my favorite character in the story (besides the dogs, of course) for her resilient spirit and determined attitude.

Bottom Line: Carpenter weaves another compelling story in An Alaskan Proposal – the setting, the characters, the writing style all perfectly on point. I loved the banter between Leith and Sabrina, their developing friendship, and those kisses! Tal & Boomer absolutely delighted me, and I hope we get to spend more time with them (in Volta’s story perhaps?). It’s always great to visit with old friends from previous books in the series, too, but this book works nicely as a standalone if you’re just starting here. Perfect for fans of Dani Pettrey’s Alaskan Courage series or Susan May Warren’s Montana Rescue series!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4.5 stars / Love it!

KissingBook Level: 3+ / May forget to breathe on occasion

amazon button RIMSP B&N button RIMSP

about the author

Once upon a time …

when Beth Carpenter was a little girl, she read everything she could get her hands on, and entertained herself on the school bus by making up stories in her head. Not a lot has changed. She’s still consuming books like M&Ms, and spends her days creating happily-ever-afters for her imaginary friends.

She lives in Alaska and Arizona with her husband and an aggressively affectionate fifty-pound lap dog. She loves to hear from readers.

WebsiteGoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest

An Alaskan Proposal Pinterest Board

a Rafflecopter giveaway


This giveaway is hosted by Prism Book Tours, not RimSP
Follow along with the tour HERE.

What about you? Have you ever been to Alaska? If not, would you like to go? If yes, would you like to go back?

Tags: , ,

32 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): An Alaskan Proposal by Beth Carpenter

  1. patricia rose

    yes I would like to visit Alaska, love the books that are set there. I have never been there.

  2. Suzanne Sellner

    While I haven’t read many books set in Alaska, I have visited the state and look forward to reading this book.

  3. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for being part of the book tour for “An Alaskan Proposal” by Beth Carpenter. Can’t wait for the opportunity to read this great sounding book.

    Well……I have and I haven’t been to Alaska. My Dad while serving in the U.S. Army was stationed in Fairbanks, Alaska. They both loved it there and I’ve heard many stories about Alaska. My Mom was RH- so when she got pregnant with me, due to medical reasons, they were transferred back stateside. So as you can see I was there, but not really there. 🙂

    I have always wanted to go to Alaska to see all it’s beauty for myself because of how fondly they both talked about it. It’s on my bucket list so many some day.

  4. Sonnetta Jones

    It is a dream of mind to visit Alaska. I have been visiting it through Alaska: The Last Frontier and Below Zero.

  5. Janet Estridge

    The cover and the review made me want to run right out and buy this book.
    We traveled by RV to Alaska, 10,000+ miles and would love to go back.

  6. Anne

    I would love to visit Alaska. I have read many novels which had an Alaska locale and they were captivating and unique. This story sounds lovely and the cover is a beaut.

  7. Danielle Hammelef

    I love the premise of this book as well as the setting. I’ve traveled 3 times to Alaska and love the landscape.

  8. Dianne Casey

    I have never been to Alaska, but it is on my list of places to visit. It would like to see the glaciers and the wildlife in their natural habitats and hopefully see some whales.

  9. Vivian Furbay

    I have relatives in Anchorage, AL but have never visited the state. I have seen beautiful pictures of the state though.

  10. Debbie P

    I have never been to Alaska but I would love to go. This book sounds like a perfect read for me. Great cover too.

  11. Natalya Lakhno

    I’ve never visited Alaska; however, I see myself on the cruise to Alaska in the nearest future 😉
    The book is great! You will enjoy reading it!

Leave a Reply