Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Matchmaker’s Rogue by Regina Scott

Posted January 23, 2020 by meezcarrie in giveaway, historical, Regina Scott, romance / 20 Comments


The Matchmaker’s Rogue, On Tour with Prism Book Tours

THE MATCHMAKER’S ROGUE by Regina Scott
SERIES:
Grace-By-The-Sea #1

GENRE: Historical Romance (‘Clean’)
RELEASE DATE: January 8, 2020
PAGES: 272

Grace-by-the-Sea: Where romance and adventure come home.

Polished Jesslyn Chance has one of the most enviable positions in the little Regency coastal village of Grace-by-the-Sea. She is the hostess of the spa, arranging introductions and entertainments and playing matchmaker to the ladies and gentlemen who come to take the waters, promenade through the shops, and dance at the assembly. But when a rogue returns from her past, Jess finds herself suddenly at sea.

Always an adventurer, Larkin Denby left Grace-by-the-Sea to right the wrongful death of his father. Now he’s back on a mission: to identify the mysterious Lord of the Smugglers who allegedly sails from Grace Cove and takes England’s secrets to France. But Grace-by-the-Sea is the perfect little spa town, run by the still oh-so-perfect Jesslyn Chance. When the village’s future is threatened, Jess must work with Lark to solve the mystery and protect the town’s own. In doing so, the matchmaker of Grace-by-the-Sea may just find that the best match for her is the rogue who stole her heart years ago.


What an absolutely delightful read! I laughed and I swooned, and my heart was warmed by my visit to Grace-By-The-Sea.

While Jess and Lark are the protagonists in The Matchmaker’s Rogue, all of the rather quirky townspeople give the book its heart. The cast of colorful personalities – and intriguing backstories – kept me grinning throughout, and that ending! Has me completely hooked for the next book when it releases. This little coastal town has much more going on than meets the eye, and Regina Scott has so cleverly woven its many nuances into an entertaining story that captures you right from word one. The scene where Jess and Lark are walking through town and everyone is sending wordless signals, asking Jess with nonverbal cues if they need to start preparing for a wedding, had me laughing out loud and completely feeling for Jess at the same time.

Speaking of laughing out loud & feeling sympathetic… Aunt Maudie is just priceless. What an endearing and oddball character, seeing mermaids and trolls and pirates around every corner. Her timing is impeccable, popping up exactly when a lighter moment is needed or a bit more madcappery is warranted. Yet, we get such sweet glimpses of her heart, too. She’s hands-down one of my favorite characters in the story.

Bottom Line: Regina Scott’s books are always great reads, but I’m pretty sure that The Matchmaker’s Rogue is my favorite of hers so far. I can’t wait for book 2 to release – especially after the way this book ends! A story with romance, intrigue, adventure, and endearing humor, The Matchmaker’s Rogue is the perfect next read for fans of Jen Turano, Tessa Dare or Mary Connealy.

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received via Prism Book Tours. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 5 stars / such fun!

KissingBook Level: 3 / may forget to breathe on occasion

amazon affiliate link used

Book Depository


Regina Scott started writing novels in the third grade. Thankfully for literature as we know it, she didn’t sell her first novel until she learned a bit more about writing. Since her first book was published, her stories have traveled the globe, with translations in many languages including Dutch, German, Italian, and Portuguese. She now has more than forty-five published works of warm, witty romance.

She loves everything about England, so it was only a matter of time before she started her own village. Where more perfect than the gorgeous Dorset Coast? She can imagine herself sailing along the chalk cliffs, racing her horse across the Downs, dancing at the assembly, and even drinking the spa waters. She drank the waters in Bath, after all!

Regina Scott and her husband of 30 years reside in the Puget Sound area of Washington State on the way to Mt. Rainier. She has dressed as a Regency dandy, learned to fence, driven four-in-hand, and sailed on a tall ship, all in the name of research, of course. Learn more about her at her website.

Website | Blog | Goodreads | Bookbub | Facebook | Pinterest


One winner will receive print copies of all six books in Fortune’s Brides series (Never Doubt a DukeNever Borrow a BaronetNever Envy an EarlNever Vow for a ViscountNever Kneel to a Knight, and Never Marry a Marquess)

US only

Ends January 29, 2020

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway is hosted by Prism Book Tours, not RimSP
Follow along with the tour by clicking the banner below.


What about you? What interests you most about The Matchmaker’s Rogue by Regina Scott?

Tags: , , ,

20 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Matchmaker’s Rogue by Regina Scott

  1. Patti O.

    I love her writings and would LOVE to win these books! I love historical romances because I love learning the history of the period the author is writing about…especially regency stories!

  2. Roxanne C.

    I have loved every book by Regina Scott that I have read. “The Matchmaker’s Rogue” has a seaside spa, matchmaking, adventure, intrigue/mystery, and a past between the heroine and the hero…and so much more! Adding this series to my wishlist!!

  3. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for being part of the book tour for “The Matchmaker’s Rogue” by Regina Scott.

    Lovely cover and I can’t wait to dive into Jesslyn and Larkin’s story!

  4. Vivian Furbay

    I love historical fiction. When a book is well researched by the author, it shows how people lived back in the past making it more interesting.

  5. Debbie Clatterbuck

    I love history and I love Regina Scott’s books. ‘nough said.” Thanks for the giveaway and good luck everyone.

  6. Perrianne Askew

    I love historical fiction and Regency in particular. I’m practically guaranteed to love it, especially after reading the review.

Leave a Reply

Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.