Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Texas Twin Abduction by Virginia Vaughan

Posted June 27, 2020 by meezcarrie in Christian, contemporary, giveaway, mystery/suspense, romance, Virginia Vaughan / 14 Comments


TEXAS TWIN ABDUCTION
SERIES
: Cowboy Lawmen #1

GENRE: Inspirational Romantic Suspense
PUBLISHER: Love Inspired Suspense
RELEASE DATE: June 1, 2020
PAGES: 224

This twin’s past is a blank…

And she might not have a future.

Waking up in a bullet-ridden car with a bag of cash and a deputy insisting she’s his ex-fiancée, Ashlee Taylor has no memory of what happened—or of Lawson Avery. But with her twin missing and someone hunting her down, she must trust him with her life. Can Lawson save her and her sister—even as Ashlee’s forgotten secrets become an inescapable trap?

 

Other Books In This Series


Texas Twin Abduction is the first book I remember reading by Virginia Vaughan but it will not be my last! And since it starts a new series, it’s the perfect place to jump into her writing, if you’re like me and she’s a new-to-you author.

I was caught up in this story from the very beginning. Lawson may currently be a sheriff’s deputy but his heart lies at the family ranch. Still, he’s helping out his brother Josh (aka the sheriff) when he comes across a bullet-ridden car … and his ex-fiancee, who doesn’t remember him at all. Not to mention the bag with lots of cash they find in her car, the men still trying to kill her, and her identical twin who appears to have been kidnapped. That’s just the first few pages, so you can imagine how intense the rest of the book is. The heart-in-your-throat-will-they-survive action only briefly lets up throughout the story to allow a bit of time for some romance that has been long delayed for these two – and the tangled feelings that go along with that. Both main characters are layered & well-developed, and they both have a fighting spirit that helps them continue to stay alive even when all the odds seem stacked against them.

Bottom Line: Vaughan’s writing voice is easy to read and keeps you firmly engaged from start to finish. The story is extremely well-plotted, so prepare for some stunning twists & turns along the way. A sweet romance, great characters, and a beautifully redemptive thread enhance the suspense elements too, and it all comes together to make for an intense ride that will more than satisfy fans of the genre. I’m eager to follow this series and spend more time with Lawson’s family. Perfect for fans of Dana Mentink, Susan Sleeman, and Lynette Eason!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received via Celebrate Lit. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4.5 stars / loved it!

KissingBook Level: 3 / may forget to breathe on occasion

amazon affiliate link used


Virginia Vaughan is a multi-published author of inspirational romantic suspense. Blessed to come from a large, southern family, her fondest memories include listening to stories recounted by family and friends around the large dinner table. She was a lover of books even from a young age, devouring gothic romance novels and stories of romance, danger, and love. She soon started writing them herself. A former investigator for the State of Mississippi, Virginia utilizes her criminal justice background with her love of writing to transform words into powerful stories of romance and danger.

website | Facebook | Twitter

Other Books by Virginia Vaughan



Thanks for joining me for a brand new adventure. TEXAS TWIN ABDUCTION is the first book in my new Cowboy Lawmen series and it’s a departure from what I normally write. I love writing about cops and serial killers so when my editor first suggested the cowboy/western theme, I was hesitant. I’m a city girl at heart so this was so far out of my comfort zone! But I couldn’t resist for long. After all, who doesn’t love a cowboy? Thankfully, I found a way to merge what I loved—law enforcement, FBI, US Marshals—with the cowboy/family themed books my editor wanted to see by making my group of hero brothers a family of law enforcement types with ties to the family ranch. The best of both words. Score!

Book one in this new series, TEXAS TWIN ABDUCTION, begins with my hero, little brother Lawson Avery, in a quandary. All he ever wanted out of life was to run his family’s Texas ranch, but his ex-fiancée Ashlee’s final words to him as she skipped out on their wedding was that his desire for the simple life made him unambitious and unworthy of her love. Her words broke him, sending him searching for something more meaningful to do with his life, eventually winding up as a deputy in the sheriff’s office. But, despite law enforcement being in his blood, Lawson finally realized that life wasn’t for him and made plans to return to the ranch. However, his plans are sidetracked when he finds Ashlee unconscious on the side of the road in a bullet-ridden car with no memory of him or their past together. When it becomes clear that someone wants her dead, Lawson steps in to act as her protector. But will digging into the mysteries of her past cost him the future he still longs to have with her?

I hope you enjoy this book and this brand new series! Look for the next book—older brother US Marshal Miles Avery’s story—coming in TEXAS HOLIDAY HIDEOUT this October.


To celebrate her tour, Virginia is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Barnes & Noble gift card and a copy of Texas Twin Abduction!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

Click here to view this promotion.

This giveaway is hosted by Celebrate Lit, not RimSP
Follow along with the tour by clicking the banner below

What about you? What makes you want to read Texas Twin Abduction by Virginia Vaughan?

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Texas Twin Abduction by Virginia Vaughan

  1. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for your review on “Texas Twin Abduction” by Virginia Vaughan and for being part of the book tour.

    This book had a LOT going for it. Love the cover! Love that it’s a Love Inspired Suspense! Love the description of the book and your review confirms that this one is definitely on my TBR list.

  2. Diana Hardt

    Nice cover. I liked the blurb. It sounds like a really interesting book, very intriguing. Thank you for sharing.

  3. IRENE HENDERSON

    It sounds so exciting! Great beginning… I love romantic suspense stories! How come she doesn’t remember her ex-fiancée, but does remember she has a twin?

Leave a Reply