Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Viscount’s Vow by Julie Coulter Bellon

Posted July 20, 2020 by meezcarrie in giveaway, historical, Julie Coulter Bellon, romance / 20 Comments


THE VISCOUNT’S VOW
SERIES:
Veterans Club #2

GENRE: Historical Romance (Clean)
PUBLISHER: Stone Hall Books
RELEASE DATE: June 5, 2020
PAGES: 190

A man changed by war. The woman who loves him. And a secret that could tear them apart.

Edward Rutledge, the newly minted Viscount Carlisle, has come back from war a changed man. The echo of the battlefield and the death of his best friend Marcus haunt him to the point that he decides to break his betrothal to Charlotte—the only woman he’s ever loved.

When he’s summoned home to Hartwell Manor, he comes face-to-face with her. Slowly, her strength and love make him see that he might be able to reclaim what he thought was lost. But when word reaches him that Marcus might not have died in Spain and yet lives, Edward will do anything to bring his friend home. As the mystery deepens, however, Edward is drawn into an intrigue that forces him to confront the demons that have plagued him since he returned to England. Will he have to sacrifice everything he’s built with Charlotte in order to keep her safe?

 

Other Books In This Series


I loved The Marquess Meets His Match, book 1 in this series, so I was delighted to see Christian & Alice play a small role in The Viscount’s Vow too – as well as the follow-up with Lord Pembroke & the fallout his family (specifically his sister) had faced as a result of some of the events in the first book.

When we think of war-related PTSD, we tend to think of it in a more modern setting – from the Vietnam War on. One of the elements of The Viscount’s Vow that I found most interesting was Edward’s PTSD from the Napoleonic Wars. The author did a great job, in my opinion, of framing his behavior with the sights & sounds & survivor’s guilt that he was struggling to reconcile with daily life now that he had returned to England. She does this in such a way that we see his actions & reactions from the perspective of our modern understandings while still maintaining the unique elements that separate a war of that era from those in more recent history. I loved this element to the story, though I do wish his inner battle hadn’t been won quite so easily; more fleshing-out of the layers involved in healing from such a traumatic experience would have given it a bit more realism.

Charlotte is a supportive sister, friend and betrothed love, though she has suffered from being all three. Her determination to rise above a broken heart, her refusal to give up on Edward, and her strength to stand up for herself when it counts make her a heroine that will definitely capture you. She is kind in spite of being treated unkindly, and she is wise beyond her years. I really liked Charlotte, and the tender affection between her and Edward (not to mention the sizzle & sparks that fly off the page whenever they can’t resist the pull of a kiss!) is a highlight of the novel.

Bottom Line: The Viscount’s Vow is a sweet romance with layered characters & a bit of intrigue to round out the romance. While Edward’s PTSD & the Marcus subplot could have been developed further, with more dimension, overall this read will definitely hold your attention from beginning to end. Edward & Charlotte are simply meant to be, and your heart will melt as they reacquaint themselves with that assurance. A great choice for fans of Laura V. Beers & Rebecca Connolly! A beautiful story of redemption & restoration.

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4 stars / enjoyed it!

KissingBook Level: 4 / keep those fans & fainting couches handy!


Also available to read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited


Julie Coulter Bellon is the author of nearly two dozen romantic suspense books. Her book All Fall Down won the RONE award for Best Suspense, Pocket Full of Posies won a RONE Honorable Mention for Best Suspense and The Captain was a RONE award finalist for Best Suspense. Most recently, her books The Capture and Second Look were both Whitney finalists for Best Suspense/Mystery.

Julie loves to travel and her favorite cities she’s visited so far are probably Athens, Paris, Ottawa, and London. In her free time she loves to read, write, teach, watch HawaiiFive-O, and eat Canadian chocolate. Not necessarily in that order.

If you’d like to be the first to hear about Julie’s new projects and receive a free book, you can sign up to be part of her VIP Readers Group at juliebellon.com

website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

Other Books by Julie Coulter Bellon



OR

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway is hosted by Julie Coulter Bellon, not RimSP
Follow along with her blog tour by clicking the banner below.


What about you? What makes you want to read The Viscount’s Vow by Julie Coulter Bellon?

Tags: , , , ,

20 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Viscount’s Vow by Julie Coulter Bellon

  1. Diana Hardt

    I’m not sure if I believe in soulmates. Nice cover. I liked the blurb and review. It sounds like a really interesting book. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Winnie Thomas

    Thanks for the review, Carrie! I had the pleasure of meeting Julie a few months ago, but I haven’t had a chance to read any of her books yet. This one sound intriguing! It’s going on my wish list!

  3. Tracy Urschler

    I definitely believe in soulmates but unfortunately I don’t believe everyone finds theirs.

  4. Lynn Brown

    I believe you can find someone who fits you perfectly. Whether or not that’s a soul mate I’m not sure. Thanks for the chance.

  5. DeAnna Dodson

    Hmmm, I’m not sure if I believe in soulmates. Some people seem to find one. Others find someone willing to grow toward that. It’s a lovely concept though. 🙂

  6. Faith Creech

    Absolutely! My hubby and I have been soulmates for 42 years! Thanks for the chance to win!

Leave a Reply