Book Review: Whatever Happens Next by Jaycee Weaver

Posted August 20, 2020 by meezcarrie in Christian, contemporary, Jaycee Weaver, romance / 6 Comments


WHATEVER HAPPENS NEXT by Jaycee Weaver
SERIES:
Everyday Love #4

GENRE: Inspirational Contemporary Romance
PUBLISHER: Sandia Sky Press
RELEASE DATE: May 12, 2020
PAGES: 307

Growing up in nowhere Oklahoma gave US Air Force vehicle maintainer TSgt Dyson what his momma calls itchy feet. His wanderlust has kept him from romantic entanglements for years, until the day an over-dramatic, strawberry-scented chatterbox slams into him and turns his world upside down.

Jenna Davis was a quintessential good girl, deeply rooted in her family and faith until one mistake three years ago changed everything. Unable to admit her failure, she goes through the motions watching everyone else live their dreams. But it’s hard to find her purpose when opening up to anyone—even God—feels impossible. Then she meets Dyson, who personifies the strong, silent type.

Dyson gets her to open up and begin dreaming again, rebuilding the trust she’s lost in men and especially in herself. But Dyson has something important to tell Jenna, and he knows it’ll be the end of everything they’ve built. After all, how can he ask her to leave everything and everyone behind when he can never stay?

The Everyday Love Series is a contemporary romance series set in Albuquerque, featuring ordinary people in lifelike stories that inspire, uplift, and share hope. Stories in which a very real God shows Himself in everyday ways to carry His people through any circumstance.

 

Other Books In This Series

   


“Just his luck, the first girl to spark an interest in months
and she had to be three beans shy of a burrito.”

This is my first Jaycee Weaver novel but all it took was one chapter for me to fall in love with her writing style – and these characters. I laughed out loud at Jenna’s impressions of childbirth as she stood in for her friend’s husband – “What good could honestly come from seeing your best friend in such a position?” – and then again at Dyson & Jenna’s first meeting – “Was she still talking? Good gravy, did she ever stop?” Dyson’s dry observations of Jenna’s klutzy rambling had me in his corner right away – and in Jenna’s. I was rooting for them individually & together immediately & I couldn’t wait to know more about them as I kept reading.

Weaver’s storytelling engages the reader on every page, and she (seemingly) seamlessly combines hilarious wit and swoony romance (Dyson! Be still my heart for this quiet, steady soul) with an authentic faith journey & all its stumbles and struggles and triumphs. Dyson’s genuine affection for Jenna, the ‘hyper little sprite’ that he quickly nicknames Shortcake, is clear from the start, even when he can’t quite figure out what to do with her lol. “Dyson couldn’t remember the last time he’d laughed this much. Or wanted to kiss someone so badly.” And Jenna is completely lovable and endearing, and I loved watching how God uses Dyson to remind her of God’s unlimited grace & deep love – no matter how badly she feels that she’s messed up.

Bottom Line: This may have been my first read in the Everyday Love series, but I’m making it a priority to go back and catch up as soon as I can because I absolutely loved every bit of Whatever Happens Next! Weaver has created extremely likable and relatable characters, and watching Dyson & Jenna fall in love will leave a sweet smile on your face. The faith thread is so well done – it integrates naturally into the story without feeling preachy or forced – and the reminder that faith in action doesn’t hold us to an unreachable standard of perfection (and that forgiveness is freely offered when we confess and repent) is one that we can all take to heart. Highly recommended for fans of Sarah Monzon, Toni Shiloh, Kara Isaac, and Pepper Basham!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 5 stars / loved it!

KissingBook Level: 4 / keep that fan & fainting couch handy!

amazon affiliate link used

Also available to read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited


Lover of Jesus, family, books, coffee, music, and crafting (in that order), Jaycee Weaver is perpetually pursuing at least one of her passions. She writes contemporary Christian romance stories featuring realistic characters in everyday situations where God is at work in big ways. She appreciates books where the characters face shortcomings, temptations, and adversity but always get their happy ending, so that’s what she writes.

website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

Other Books by Jaycee Weaver



What about you? What makes you want to read Whatever Happens Next by Jaycee Weaver?

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Book Review: Whatever Happens Next by Jaycee Weaver

  1. Winnie Thomas

    *adds book to already overflowing, out-of-control wish list*

    Carrie, you’ve done it again–convinced me to try another new-to-me author! No wonder I can never get caught up! Yikes!! I love you anyway, my dear BFFFC! Hugs!!

  2. Toni Shiloh

    You have to read her Love, Laughter, and Luminarias! The banter, hero, etc…so good! Oh and Adrift! Those are some of my favorites.

Leave a Reply