Book Review (and a Giveaway): Miss Tavistock’s Mistake by Linore Rose Burkard

Posted October 7, 2020 by meezcarrie in giveaway, historical, Linore Rose Burkard, romance / 20 Comments


MISS TAVISTOCK’S MISTAKE
SERIES:
The Brides of Mayfair #1

GENRE: Regency Romance (clean read)
PUBLISHER: Lilliput Press
RELEASE DATE: June 8, 2020
PAGES: 283

Can Miss Tavistock’s mistake ever be undone?

Young Miss Tavistock is promised in marriage to Captain Rempeare by the wish of her dearly departed papa. But the captain’s been at sea for a decade. When she finally meets him, tempestuous sparks fly, and she impulsively adopts a daring false identity. Going by “Lady X,” she vows never to marry such an infuriating man.

Captain Gabriel Rempeare is prepared to fulfill his duty and marry Miss Tavistock—if only he can clap eyes on her. One circumstance or another keeps them apart, though he cannot seem to avoid the maddeningly lovely Lady X. When fate throws them together in London, Miss Tavistock discovers the real nature of the captain, and regrets her subterfuge. But can such a noble man forgive deceit? Or has her mistake already cost her everything?

 

After reading & loving Forever, Lately by this author, I jumped at the chance to review the newly re-released/updated Miss Tavistock’s Mistake as well.

Margaret is a sometimes-delightful, sometimes-frustrating mix of impetuous, naive, thoughtless, adorable, and sincere, and one can almost forgive her the first three when you remember what her life has been like up to the point in which we meet her again as a young adult. Very sheltered. Very alone. Her somewhat recent companion helps soften some of those rough edges, but even she is no match for Margaret once she sets her mind to do something. And I can sympathize – as much as I shook my head at several of Margaret’s ill-fated decisions, I also found her adorable in spite of them.

For all that Margaret is flighty and impetuous, Gabriel is steady and loyal. While Margaret’s dishonesty causes all manner of problems, Gabriel’s sense of honor provides a welcome contrast as well as a stabilizing force. His feelings on all manner of things run just as deeply as Margaret’s do but, in Gabriel, Burkard has penned a more reserved hero, similar to an Austen or Heyer hero. It’s in these subtle moments, however, that we fall in love with Gabriel just as Margaret does – maybe even more so because we get a glimpse of the conflict in his heart and his true nature a bit sooner.

Bottom Line: Miss Tavistock’s Mistake has the feel of classic Regency novels, sure to appeal to fans of Austen, Heyer, and Wilde, with no character quite being all they seem at first glance & with a misunderstanding-riddled-disaster-waiting-to-happen in the wings. Gabriel is my favorite character, though Mrs. Filbert isn’t far behind – and I came to love Margaret most the longer she blossomed under their protection. I loved that we are given glimpses into Gabriel’s developing feelings for Margaret’s false identity, even as his integrity demands he do the right thing by his betrothed (also Margaret). And when the subterfuge begins to become more clear, ahhh blissful sigh! While I didn’t find Miss Tavistock’s Mistake as funny as others have indicated it to be, nor as witty as my previous read by this author, I did find it engaging and romantic nonetheless. A fun Regency outing for your weekend 🙂

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4 stars / enjoyed it!

KissingBook Level: 3 / may forget to breathe on occasion

amazon affiliate link used

Also available to read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited


Linore Rose Burkard is a serious watcher of period films, a Janeite, and hopeless romantic. An award winning author best known for Inspirational Regency Romance, her first book opened the genre for the CBA. Besides historical romance, Linore writes contemporary suspense (The Pulse Effex Series, as L.R. Burkard), contemporary romance (Falling In), and romantic short stories. Linore has a magna cum laude English Lit. degree from CUNY which she earned while taking herself far too seriously. She now resides in Ohio with her husband and family, where she turns her youthful angst into character or humor-driven plots.

website | Facebook | Twitter


To celebrate her tour, Linore is giving away the grand prize of a $30 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

Click here to view this promotion.

This giveaway is hosted by Celebrate Lit, not RimSP


What about you? What makes you want to read Miss Tavistock’s Mistake by Linore Rose Burkard?

Tags: , , , ,

20 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway): Miss Tavistock’s Mistake by Linore Rose Burkard

  1. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for your review on “Miss Tavistock’s Mistake” by Linore Rose Burkard.

    Sounds like a marvelous book and one I would greatly enjoy having the opportunity to read. Lovely cover!

  2. DeAnna Dodson

    I got to read this one ahead of time. I enjoyed it so much! LRB has certainly done her Regency homework.

  3. Diana Hardt

    Nice cover. I liked the blurb. It sounds like a very interesting book. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply