First Line Friday (week 270): The Debutante’s Code

Posted December 31, 2021 by meezcarrie in Christian, Erica Vetsch, First Line Fridays, historical, mystery/suspense, romance / 7 Comments


Happy New Year’s Eve & welcome to the First Line Friday link-up! It’s time to grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line. Today, I’m featuring the first line of The Debutante’s Code by Erica Vetsch!


and the first lines are…

“If you lean out any farther, you’ll wind up in the drink. Which, I suppose, would be a fitting end to this disaster of a trip.”

 

Jane Austen meets Sherlock Holmes in this new Regency mystery series

Newly returned from finishing school, Lady Juliette Thorndike is ready to debut in London society. Due to her years away, she hasn’t spent much time with her parents, and sees them only as the flighty, dilettante couple the other nobles love. But when they disappear, she discovers she never really knew them at all. They’ve been living double lives as government spies–and they’re only the latest in a long history of espionage that is the family’s legacy.

Now Lady Juliette is determined to continue their work. Mentored by her uncle, she plunges into the dangerous world of spy craft. From the glittering ballrooms of London to the fox hunts, regattas, and soirees of country high society, she must chase down hidden clues, solve the mysterious code her parents left behind, and stay out of danger. All the while, she has to keep her endeavors a secret from her best friend and her suitors–not to mention nosy, irritatingly handsome Bow Street runner Daniel Swann, who suspects her of a daring theft.

Can Lady Juliette outwit her enemies and complete her parents’ last mission? Or will it lead her to a terrible end?

Best-selling author Erica Vetsch is back with a rollicking, exciting new series destined to be a hit with Regency readers who enjoy a touch of mystery in their love stories. Fans of Julie Klassen, Sarah Ladd, and Anne Perry will love the wit, action, and romance.

affiliate links used


Let me know the first line of the book closest to you & then click on the images below to visit more FLF participants!

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

If you’re a blogger or just a social media-er, we’d love for you to join us too & add your link to the linky widget!

Catch up on other First Line Friday posts & find some new books for your TBR!

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “First Line Friday (week 270): The Debutante’s Code

  1. Gloria A

    I have this book on my wish list. I just finished Life Flight by Lynette Eason. The first line is:
    Today was not going to be the day they died-not if she had anything to say about it.

  2. Paula Shreckhise

    My first line is from The Mozart Code by Rachel McMillan:
    November 1946. Schloss Schonbrunn, Vienne
    Simon Barre had left his best revolver back at his family estate near Wilmington, Sussex, along with his Barrington surname.

  3. Kathleen Clark

    “Miss Rebecca Lane quaked at the thought of returning to Swanford after more than a year’s absence, even though her heart had never really left.” Shadows of Swanford Abbey by Julie Klassen. This new book sounds so good!

  4. Debra J Pruss

    “The young reindeer nuzzled Katie Kapowski’s palm with velvet lips, pawing the grounduneasily as nighttime settled around them.”
    Yokom Justice by Dana Mentink.

  5. Diana Hardt

    This comes from First Christmas on Huckleberry Hill by Jennifer Beckstrand: Martha Sue Helmuth stomped down the cellar stairs wondering just how she’d gotten herself into this mess.

Leave a Reply