Book Review: Fixed Up by Jessica Leigh Johnson

Posted June 15, 2023 by meezcarrie in Christian, contemporary, Jessica Leigh Johnson, romance / 1 Comment


FIXED UP by Jessica Leigh Johnson
GENRE: Inspirational Contemporary Romance / RomCom
PUBLISHER: Frost & Faith Publications
RELEASE DATE: April 3, 2023
PAGES: 274

Blind dates, set-ups, online dating—I’ve tried it all, and so far none of it has led me to true love. And that’s why I’ve come to the conclusion that romance is overrated, and it’s time for me to swear off dating forever. To prove how serious I am, I’ve even told my roommate to cease her matchmaking efforts. No more men for me, thank you. I don’t need to be in a relationship in order to feel fulfilled. I’m a librarian, after all, and I believe that a good book and a cozy blanket can rival the company of a man any day.

But when my ex-boyfriend gets engaged to a woman I’ve never met and invites me to the wedding, I have to put my plan on hold. I’m not going to the wedding alone, so obviously I need a date. The problem is, I’ve only got two-and-a-half months to find someone. If I don’t, I’ll be stuck going with my parents—and that’s not happening.

Thank goodness my roommate has one more guy in mind, and he’s perfect for me—or so she says. At this point, my standards couldn’t get much lower. As long as he doesn’t fraternize with amphibians or treat me like one of his gym buddies, he might just be my perfect match!

 

Y’all!!!! I’m so excited to tell you about this book! I loved it so much! Not just ‘for a debut novel’ but as a ‘new fave author on my will-always-read’ list!

Megan has lots of deal-breakers that have made it difficult for her roommate Nora to set her up with someone that will last longer than one very short date. But with the calendar clicking off days between now and her ex’s wedding, Megan needs a date that will show all concerned parties that she’s happy without said ex. Problem is, Nora really only has one other guy left, and to say that this next set-up goes well would be … um… generous. Sparks do fly, but they may not be the ones Megan was hoping for haha!

Meg and Garrett’s blind date disaster turned tentative friendship (for the sake of their mutual friends who are dating) is just everything delightful about romcoms. There are some really sweet moments between them as well as some hilarious ones, and I wholeheartedly enjoyed the back-and-forth of their relationship, bickering and all. It’s like the best of enemies-to-more meets friends-to-more, and the combination works perfectly. The delicious chemistry doesn’t hurt, either. And oh how I loved Garrett – his swooniness and his steadiness, as well as Meg’s ability to absolutely drive him insane.

The faith thread in Fixed Up is so well done. It’s integrated organically into the story, particularly with Meg’s character, and never feels preachy. Rather, Meg’s relationship with God is written as an extension of who she is and the journey she’s on – and I must say that her dad’s advice to her toward the end of the story left me a little choked up. I loved how naturally Meg and other characters pray throughout the book, but never felt like it stopped the story for a sermon. If you love the way Toni Shiloh writes her characters’ faith threads, then you’ll love how Jessica Leigh Johnson does too.

Bottom Line: Right from the beginning of Fixed Up, I adored Jessica Leigh Johnson’s writing voice. It’s witty and snarky and endearing with spark-filled romantic tension, a sweet-but-never-preachy faith thread, and stellar comedic timing. The characters are nicely layered and easily lovable, and I could easily spend more time with them in future books. The dating disasters scattered throughout the book bring easy laughter, and I smiled all the way through this fun read. My heart was touched, too, by the message of God’s unconditional love for us. This author has a new fan in me, and I can’t wait for whatever she writes next! Perfect for fans of Becky Wade, Toni Shiloh, Courtney Walsh, and Pepper Basham.

(I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book which I read via Kindle Unlimited. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4.5 stars / loved it!

KissingBook Level: 3+ / will forget to breathe on occasion

affiliate links used


Jessica Leigh Johnson is an Ohio native who now lives in northern Minnesota with her husband and three of their five children. She wrote her first book, “Do You Trust Me?” in 2012. She has also written dozens of articles on the ins and outs of parenting children with chronic illness. She is most passionate about fiction writing—specifically Christian romantic fiction—and has recently discovered how much fun it is to write romantic comedy. “Fixed Up” is her first full-length fiction novel.

Jessica graduated from Crown College with a degree in Christian education, and currently serves as her church’s librarian. When she’s not writing, she can most likely be found at the lake or in the sauna, trying to blend in with the Minnesota natives she lives with.

You can connect with Jessica on her website, Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram and Twitter.


What about you? What makes you want to read Fixed Up by Jessica Leigh Johnson?

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Book Review: Fixed Up by Jessica Leigh Johnson

Leave a Reply