Book Review (and a Giveaway!): A Parfait Crime by Maya Corrigan

Posted November 4, 2023 by meezcarrie in Book Review, clean, contemporary, cozy mystery, giveaway, Maya Corrigan, mystery/suspense / 8 Comments


A Parfait Crime book review

A Parfait Crime by Maya CorriganA PARFAIT CRIME by Maya Corrigan
SERIES:
A Five-Ingredient Mystery #9

GENRE: Cozy Mystery (Clean)
PUBLISHER: Kensington Cozies
RELEASE DATE: October 24, 2023
PAGES: 253

A granddaughter-grandfather sleuthing duo take on a perplexing new case in the latest culinary cozy mystery, sure to appeal to fans of Diane Mott, Joanne Fluke, and Katherine Hall Page.

At the site of a fatal blaze, Val’s boyfriend, a firefighter trainee, is shocked to learn the victim is known to him, a woman named Jane who belonged to the local Agatha Christie book club—and was rehearsing alongside Val’s grandfather for an upcoming Christie play being staged for charity. Just as shocking are the skeletal remains of a man found in the freezer. Who is he and who put him on ice?

After Val is chosen to replace Jane in the play, the cast gathers at their house to get to work—and enjoy Grandad’s five-ingredient parfaits—but all anyone can focus on is the bizarre real-life mystery. When it’s revealed that Jane’s death was due to something other than smoke inhalation, Val and Grandad try to retrace her final days. As they dig into her past life, their inquiry leads them to a fancy new spa in town—where they discover that Jane wasn’t the only one who had a skeleton in the cooler . . .

Includes delicious five-ingredient recipes!

 

Other Books In This Series


A Parfait Crime is my first taste of Maya Corrigan’s Five-Ingredient Mystery series, but it was easy to jump into without feeling lost. The author quickly gives readers the pertinent information they need about the setting and the main characters without it feeling like that’s what she’s doing. I found Val to be relatable and likable, too, and I really enjoyed the light romance subplot between her and Bram – light enough not to annoy mystery purists but present enough to please hopeless romantics like me. I also adored her grandfather who was always ‘just resting his eyes’ and referencing classic movies/plays whenever possibly applicable.

The mystery that Val and her grandfather find themselves solving in A Parfait Crime is deliciously layered … much like the titular parfait … and was enjoyable to solve along with them. I absolutely loved the parallels to the Readers Theater play that the author works into the plot, something which also served as a helpful story device on more than one occasion. (On a side note, I also appreciated that the author didn’t spoil the culprit for Christie’s The Mousetrap for readers for me who haven’t read it yet but now want to.) Val and her grandfather and their circle of friends make a good sleuthing team, and they’re smart about it, too – proving that just because you’re an amateur crime solver doesn’t mean you have to make dumb decisions lol.

Bottom Line: A new deluxe spa in town, a classic mystery, newcomers with secrets, longtime Bayport residents with secrets, dead bodies piling up… will Val and her grandfather be the cats or the mice when all is said and done? A Parfait Crime by Maya Corrigan entertains readers with multiple layers and engaging characters. The premise behind this series – five-ingredient recipes, five clues, five suspects – is so clever and worked really well with the Readers Theater subplot in this particular book. An enjoyable choice for your next mystery read!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4 stars / enjoyed it!

affiliate links used


Maya Corrigan

Maya (Mary Ann) Corrigan writes the Five-Ingredient Mysteries featuring café manager  Val and her live-wire grandfather solving murders in a Chesapeake Bay town. Each book has five suspects, five clues, and Granddad’s five-ingredient recipes. In the 9th book of the series, A Parfait Crime, Val and Granddad rehearse an Agatha Christie play with a cast that includes murder suspects. A Virginia resident, Maya has taught college courses in writing, detective fiction, and literature.  When not reading and writing, she enjoys theater, travel, trivia, cooking, and crosswords. Visit her website — https://mayacorrigan.com — for book news, easy recipes, and mystery history and trivia.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway is hosted by Great Escapes, not RimSP
Follow along with the tour by clicking the banner below


What about you? What makes you want to read A Parfait Crime by Maya Corrigan?

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): A Parfait Crime by Maya Corrigan

  1. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for your review on “A Parfait Crime” by Maya Corrigan and for being part of the book tour.

    Great cover and a wonderful sounding story have me wanting to read this book. Who the author is means this book is already on my TBR list.

  2. Jane Squires

    It looks like a book I would enjoy. Then I introduce someone else to your books. I review every book I read

Leave a Reply