Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Christmas in the Crosshairs by Deena Alexander

Posted December 3, 2023 by meezcarrie in Book Review, Christian, Christmas, contemporary, Deena Alexander, giveaway, mystery/suspense, romance / 18 Comments


Christmas in the Crosshairs book review

Christmas in the Crosshairs by Deena AlexanderCHRISTMAS IN THE CROSSHAIRS by Deena Alexander
GENRE: Romantic Suspense (Christian)
PUBLISHER: Love Inspired Suspense
RELEASE DATE: November 28, 2023
PAGES: 224

A baby in need of protection—

and a hitman in pursuit.

After evading an attack, defense attorney Adam Spencer is on the run from a dangerous hitman. The killer’s wife is Adam’s only hope at apprehending the criminal—until she lands in the hospital. Now he must depend on her twin sister, Jaelyn Reed, to find the answers they need…all while protecting the baby niece Jaelyn didn’t know she had. But with threats at every turn, trust may be the deadliest trap…

From Love Inspired Suspense: Courage. Danger. Faith.

 

Other Related Books

  Kidnapped in the Woods by Deena Alexander


I love this author’s books so much, and I was excited about the chance to hang out with the Seaport Fire and Rescue team once more. The opening scene immediately cranks the tension to ‘high’ – Just imagine finishing up your shift in the ER when your own firefighter teammates come barreling in with… YOU… on the gurney in critical condition. Well, that certainly got MY attention lol, as it did Jaelyn’s. But before she has time to properly process what’s happening, a gunman starts firing at her, and a stranger saves her life then tries to convince her to leave with him – while she’s doing CPR on the gunman. And this is all in the first couple of pages! Whew!

Let me tell you, the tension level rarely drops below “remember to keep breathing” for the rest of the novel. As Jaelyn and Adam go on the run, they’ll rely on each other and the Seaport Fire and Rescue team to survive, along with a precious couple that I absolutely loved and hope to see again in a future Alexander novel! A couple of surprising twists kept me absolutely glued to the pages, and the way the author sets the scene helped me feel like I was running for my life right along with them. (Side note: if you ever see me running, I really AM running for my life. Please send help haha!)

I really enjoyed Jaelyn & Adam’s natural discussions on faith as they begin to open up to one another about the toughest moments of their lives, aside of course from the imminent danger they’re currently in. And the addition of a surprise baby niece that Jaelyn didn’t know about not only raised the suspense stakes but also provided several sweet moments with all the Christmas feels. Both Jaelyn and Adam are great characters, with complex layers and relatable personalities, and I wholeheartedly enjoyed watching them fall in love.

Bottom Line: Christmas in the Crosshairs by Deena Alexander is impossible to put down once you start reading it, so it’s great that it can be easily devoured in one evening. Wonderful characters, high stakes action, and gentle romance share the page with a faith thread that fits seamlessly into the story and isn’t preachy. It made me happy to hang out with Pat and Jack and the Seaport Fire & Rescue gang again, and I would definitely want them on my side if I ever had to dodge an active threat on my life. Jaelyn and Adam – and sweet little Leigha – had my heart right away, and I was rooting for them from start to finish. A definite page-turner and a must read for fans of Lynette Eason and Elizabeth Goddard!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4.5 stars / loved it!

KissingBook Level: 3 / may forget to breathe on occasion

affiliate links used


Deena Alexander

Deena Alexander grew up in a small town on the south shore of eastern Long Island, where she met and married her high school sweetheart. She recently relocated to Florida with her husband, three kids, a son-in-law, and four dogs. Now she enjoys long walks in nature all year long, despite the occasional alligator or snake she sometimes encounters. Deena’s love for writing developed when her youngest son was born and didn’t sleep through the night, and she now works full-time as a writer and a freelance editor. Connect with Deena at her website.

Other Featured Books by Deena Alexander


a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway is hosted by Great Escapes, not RimSP
Follow along with the tour by clicking the banner below


What about you? What makes you want to read Christmas in the Crosshairs by Deena Alexander?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Christmas in the Crosshairs by Deena Alexander

  1. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for your review on CHRISTMAS IN THE CROSSHAIRS by Deena Alexander and for being part of the book tour. Love the cover! Deena never disappoints her readers.

Leave a Reply