Book Review (and a Giveaway!): A Bean to Die For by Tara Lush

Posted January 13, 2024 by meezcarrie in Book Review, clean, contemporary, cozy mystery, giveaway, mystery/suspense, Tara Lush / 13 Comments


A Bean to Die For book review

A Bean to Die For by Tara LushA BEAN TO DIE FOR by Tara Lush
SERIES:
A Coffee Lover’s Mystery #4

GENRE: Cozy Mystery (Clean)
PUBLISHER: Crooked Lane
RELEASE DATE: January 9, 2024
PAGES: 280

Perfect for fans of Cleo Coyle and Lucy Burdette, reporter-turned-barista Lana Lewis is back on the case when a body is dug up in the community garden.

Lana Lewis is brewing up new concoctions at Perkatory, a popular café in Devil’s Beach, when she decides she wants to try her hand at growing her own coffee. She secures a gardening plot in the community garden, thanks to her father and the garden’s owner, Darla. Darla’s list of rules is long, but that doesn’t stop someone from leaving Jack Daggett’s body amongst the gardening plots.

Jack, an environmental activist, had been banned from the garden previously, because of his many fights with Darla about organic produce. Lana promises her boyfriend, police chief Noah, that she’s going to stay out of this case, having been too involved in previous cases. But when she learns that Jack died from an accidental overdose, and Darla is the top suspect because of her shady past, Lana can’t help but poke around in an attempt to clear Darla’s name.

As Lana dives deeper into the case, she learns that Jack had more enemies than she realized. When Darla turns up dead, Lana has to turn up the heat on her investigation. With Lana on the case, it won’t be long before someone spills the beans to crack this case wide open. But will she able to find the killer before they strike again?

 

Other Books In This Series

   


Poor Lana. All she wants to do is experiment with growing her own coffee for Perkatory in Devil Beach’s community garden but – as with so many things in Devil’s Beach – it doesn’t go according to plan. This small Florida town is full of quirky characters and, despite all the peace-loving hippies that founded it, even something as innocuous as a community garden has its fair share of drama. And that drama tends to find Lana in spite of her best efforts to the contrary. This always adds a fun bit of wry humor to the story, and A Bean to Die For is brimming over with it. I chuckled often in this book – the perfect way to end a long week.

Lana’s swoony police chief boyfriend Noah doesn’t want her investigating this latest murder, and she really does try to acquiesce to his wishes. I enjoy their relationship – their shared sense of humor, the way their differences complement each other, their chemistry, and their mutual respect for one another. But honestly, Lana just can’t help herself when it comes to solving murders, and her cohorts (aka her dad and her BFF) make it all the more entertaining. The mystery intrigued me from the beginning and continued to do so as the murder count rises. Several layers kept me going in different directions just like Lana and her crew, and I was eager to find out whodunnit.

Bottom Line: I continue to be delighted by Tara Lush’s characters in the Coffee Lover’s Mystery series, including in the latest book A Bean to Die For. Lana’s interactions with her dad are always hysterical, and they particularly struck me as such in this one. Red herrings and legit clues make for an ever-increasing suspect list as Lana – and readers – try to narrow down the culprit(s) in time. The author’s writing voice is witty and engaging, and you’ll find yourself immersed in the setting. Another entertaining visit to Devil’s Beach and this cast of fun characters!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4 stars / loved it!

Reviewer’s Note: Readers of this blog may want to be aware that there are a couple of mild curse words used in this book.

affiliate links used


Tara Lush

Tara Lush is a Florida-based author and journalist. She’s an RWA Rita finalist, an Amtrak writing fellow, and the winner of the George C. Polk Award for environmental journalism.

She was a reporter with The Associated Press in Florida, covering crime, alligators, natural disasters, and politics. She also writes contemporary romance set in tropical locations under the name Tamara Lush.

Her debut mystery series is published by Crooked Lane Books. Tara is a fan of vintage pulp fiction book covers, Sinatra-era jazz, 1980s fashion, tropical chill, kombucha, gin, tonic, seashells, iPhones, Art Deco, telenovelas, street art, coconut anything, strong coffee and newspapers. She lives on the Gulf Coast with her husband and two dogs. You can connect with Tara at her website.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway is hosted by Great Escapes, not RimSP
Follow along with the tour by clicking the banner below


What about you? What makes you want to read A Bean to Die For by Tara Lush?

Tags: , , , , ,

13 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): A Bean to Die For by Tara Lush

  1. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for your review on “A Bean to Die For” by Tara Lush and for being part of the blog tour.

    Sound like a wonderful book and one I know I would enjoy immensely. Can’t wait for the opportunity to read and review it.

  2. Roxanne C.

    This cozy mystery does sound like an ideal choice to read when a reader needs some humor and laughter. Sounds so good.

Leave a Reply