Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Murder, She Wrote Fit For Murder by Fletcher & Moran

Posted February 3, 2024 by meezcarrie in Book Review, clean, contemporary, cozy mystery, giveaway, mystery/suspense, Terrie Farley Moran / 21 Comments


Murder She Wrote Fit For Murder book review

Murder She Wrote Fit For Murder by Jessica Fletcher & Terrie Farley MoranMURDER, SHE WROTE: FIT FOR MURDER
AUTHORS:
Jessica Fletcher & Terrie Farley Moran
SERIES:
Murder She Wrote #57

GENRE: Cozy Mystery (Clean)
PUBLISHER: Berkley
RELEASE DATE: January 23, 2024
PAGES: 284

Jessica Fletcher learns that exercise can be murder in this new entry in the USA Today bestselling Murder, She Wrote series.

Former editor of the Cabot Cove Gazette, Evelyn Phillips is back in Cabot Cove. Evelyn tells Jessica and Seth that she got a couple of really weird notes from Bertha Mae Cormier so she’s come back to town to check on her old friend. She demands that Jessica come with her to see Bertha Mae, who is a bit dithery but no more so than Jessica remembers her being in recent years.

Jessica does become somewhat concerned when Bertha Mae starts to talk about her new neighbor, Martin Terranova. He is quite charming and very health conscious and he teaches yoga and meditation in his pool house. Maureen Metzger says that she and Bertha Mae became friends in Terranova’s class and mentions how solicitous he is to his older clients.

Jessica attends one of his classes and does notice that Terranova is flirtatious with several elderly clients, especially Bertha Mae. Evelyn is becoming convinced that Bertha Mae is being mesmerized by Terranova and that he is after Bertha Mae’s money. A short while late, Martin turns up dead in his weight room. What at first blush seems to be an accident, soon proves to be murder and Jessica must put her investigative skills to the test when Evelyn becomes the prime suspect.

 

Other Books I’ve Featured In This Series


We all know the hesitation we have when one of our favorite books becomes a TV show or a movie. But what about when one of our favorite TV shows becomes a book? I have been a Murder, She Wrote TV show fan since its original run (yes, I’m dating myself) and even now it’s one of my ‘comfort shows’. And the only reason (besides lack of time) that it’s taken me until book 57 to give this series of novels a try is that I was nervous as to how it would match up with all the things I love about the TV show. Well, I needn’t have worried. As I was reading Murder She Wrote: Fit For Murder I could hear the beloved characters’ voices (especially Seth’s!) and see them on the screen of my mind just as clearly as if I was watching it as a TV episode. Terrie Farley Moran has done an excellent job of staying true to the cadence and tone of the show while continuing to keep the characters engaging and the plot original.

In our new visit to Cabot Cove (and I’m so glad that my first dip into this series is one that’s set in this fave locale), Jessica welcomes back an old friend and becomes concerned about another one. There are several ever-evolving layers to this mystery, preeminent among them being murder, and the growing suspect list covers longtime residents and newcomers alike as well as doing double duty when a secondary mystery comes to the forefront too. Jessica’s first person POV allows us to tag along for the investigation and get a taste of life in Cabot Cove in the process – if only we could taste the delicious food they eat too! The mysteries took some turns I didn’t predict, and I enjoyed ‘helping’ Jessica figure out whodunit.

Bottom Line: Author Terrie Farley Moran excels at staying true to the voice and vibe of the original characters and maintaining the timeless nature of Cabot Cove while also creating new people and stories to entertain us. Fit For Murder may start with innocuous neighborly concern for an elderly Cabot Cove resident but it soon moves into some interesting subplots as twisty as the most complex yoga pose. Fans of Murder, She Wrote will be delighted by this return to the world of Jessica Fletcher, whether they’ve been following the books from the beginning or – like me – are just tuning in.

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4 stars / enjoyed it!

affiliate links used


Jessica Fletcher  Terrie Farley Moran

Along with Jessica FletcherTerrie Farley Moran co-writes the Murder She Wrote mystery series including Murder, She Wrote: Killer on the Court. She is the author of the Read ‘Em and Eat cozy mystery series and also co-writes the Scrapbooking Mysteries with Laura Childs. Recipient of both the Agatha and the Derringer Awards, Moran has published numerous mystery short stories. The only thing Terrie enjoys more than wrangling mystery plots into submission is hanging out with any or all of her seven grandchildren. Connect with Terrie at her website and Facebook.


Murder She Wrote Fit for Murder giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway is hosted by Great Escapes, not RimSP
Follow along with the tour by clicking the banner below


What about you? What makes you want to read Murder She Wrote: Fit for Murder by Jessica Fletcher & Terrie Farley Moran?

Tags: , , , , ,

21 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Murder, She Wrote Fit For Murder by Fletcher & Moran

  1. marti

    I’m actually watching Murder, She Wrote! Angela Lansbury reminds me very much of my grandma. So it’s one of my comfort shows as well.

  2. Lori Smanski

    oh my goodness, I started watching when they first started coming out. I love Jessica and all she gets into. I would love her books also.

  3. Faith Creech

    I really enjoy these books and have always loved watching Murder She Wrote. Still watch the reruns.

  4. thanks so much for your lovely review. I must confess that I, too, have been a Murder, She Wrote fan since the original run. I still watch (comfort show–I love that term!!) I am thrilled that you say my rendition of Jess and her pals measures up because that is my primary goal. Thank you. Terrie

  5. “And the only reason (besides lack of time) that it’s taken me until book 57 to give this series of novels a try is that I was nervous as to how it would match up with all the things I love about the TV show. Well, I needn’t have worried.”

    AMEN!

  6. Holly Ison

    My mom has read every Murder She Wrote book and we also enjoy watching the show together. She is a huge fan! I would love to win the newest book as a gift for her. Thank you for the opportunity. 🙂

Leave a Reply