Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Fatal Witness by Patricia Bradley

Posted February 9, 2024 by meezcarrie in Book Review, Christian, contemporary, giveaway, mystery/suspense, Patricia Bradley, romance / 32 Comments


Fatal Witness book review

Fatal Witness by Patricia BradleyFATAL WITNESS by Patricia Bradley
SERIES:
Pearl River #2

GENRE: Romantic Suspense (Christian)
PUBLISHER: Revell
RELEASE DATE: February 6, 2024
PAGES: 389

As a child, artist and potter Dani Bennett witnessed the brutal murder of her parents. With no memory of the incident or her true identity, she was forced to take on a new name and a new life, hidden away in Montana for the past 25 years.

Mae Richmond has spent the same stretch of time searching for her granddaughter, who went missing the night her daughter and son-in-law were murdered. Convinced the woman she saw in a pottery magazine feature is the woman she’s been searching for, she enlists the help of K-9 officer Mark Lassiter of Pearl Springs, Tennessee, who tracks Dani down.

Skeptical but curious, Dani sets out on a journey to uncover the secrets of her past and reclaim her true identity. But someone close to her is determined to keep the truth of what happened all those years ago hidden.

 

Other Books In This Series


This latest suspense from Patricia Bradley grabbed my attention from the very first scene and kept me glued to the story until the end. A double murder, stolen diamonds, an artist without a past, an over-protective uncle who keeps her on a tight leash, a grandmother who will never cease trying to find her missing granddaughter, a handsome K-9 officer who takes a personal interest, and a small Tennessee town on edge as someone who walks among them wants to keep long-buried secrets from being exposed to the light. Ahhhhh!!! Did I mention that I couldn’t put it down? I devoured this book as quickly as possible even though I could have easily stayed in Pearl River with these characters indefinitely. But I needed to know how it would all play out and if my hunches were correct or way off base. (Turns out I was somewhere in between haha)

Before I talk about our hero & heroine I have to mention how much I adored Mae. She reminded me of a blend of my own grandmothers, and her feisty spirit just delighted me. I would – in a heartbeat – read a whole spinoff series (maybe a cozy mystery?) featuring her character. Dani is a character you’ll quickly care about and I was very invested in her story as she tries to put together the missing pieces of her childhood. Mark is super swoony and kind (I loved how he watched over Mae) and while he still wants to be chief deputy (the job that Alexis was given in Counter Attack) he seems to be content now with waiting for the right time. Their romance is sweet and I really enjoyed watching them fall in love. Not only do they complement each other nicely but they help shore up the broken layers in one another while ultimately resting in the One who can truly heal. And I would be seriously remiss if I didn’t gush over Gem & Lizi, the two endearing, smart, and protective dogs in this book. The side cast is a tapestry of varied personalities that may be friend or foe – that’s part of what must be sussed out – as well as some beloved familiar faces from book one.

Bottom Line: A decades-old mystery. A missing granddaughter. A determined (and delightfully sassy) grandma. A town full of suspects. A budding romance. Danger at every turn. Patricia Bradley delivers all this and more in Fatal Witness – an intense & entertaining journey from start to finish. I enjoyed all of the above, as well as the gentle faith thread which supports the plot and characters in a way that feels natural to both. The layered characters leapt off the page and into my heart (especially Mae), and I can’t wait to see what happens in the next book! Fans of Lynette Eason, Irene Hannon, and Terri Blackstock will love Patricia Bradley too – and this Pearl River series is a great time to start reading her books if you haven’t already!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4.5 stars / couldn’t put it down!

KissingBook Level: 3 / may forget to breathe on occasion

affiliate links used


Patricia Bradley

Patricia Bradley is the author of Counter Attack and Fatal Witness, as well as the Natchez Trace Park Rangers, Memphis Cold Case, and Logan Point series. Bradley is the winner of an Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award, a Selah Award, and a Daphne du Maurier Award; she was a Carol Award finalist; and three of her books were included in anthologies that debuted on the USA Today bestseller list. She makes her home in Mississippi. Learn more at PTBradley.com.

Other Recently Featured Books by Patricia Bradley

     


Fatal Witness giveaway

Revell is offering a print copy of Fatal Witness by Patricia Bradley to TWO of my readers! (US only. Void where prohibited by law or logistics.) This giveaway is subject to Reading Is My SuperPower’s giveaway policies which can be found here. Enter via the Rafflecopter form below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What about you? What makes you want to read Fatal Witness by Patricia Bradley?

Tags: , , , , , ,

32 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Fatal Witness by Patricia Bradley

  1. Naomi Shores

    I have a friend who is an artist and makes pottery so I find that part of the story interesting and the whole mystery surrounding her past.

  2. Anne

    Enthralling, intriguing and captivating story. An extremely impressive author whose books are always riveting and fascinating.

  3. MS Barb

    I like Patricia’s books and this sounds like another good book! I won’t start reading just before bedtime though!

  4. Roxanne C.

    Patricia Bradley’s books draw me into the action and storyline so strongly that I have a hard time putting down them down.

  5. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for your review on “Fatal Witness” by Patricia Bradley and confirming my desire to read this amazing book. On my TBR list and can’t wait for the opportunity to read and review it.

Leave a Reply