Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Irish Matchmaker by Jennifer Deibel

Posted February 13, 2024 by meezcarrie in Christian, giveaway, historical, Jennifer Deibel, romance / 54 Comments


The Irish Matchmaker book review

The Irish Matchmaker by Jennifer DeibelTHE IRISH MATCHMAKER by Jennifer Deibel
GENRE: Historical Romance (Christian)
PUBLISHER: Revell
RELEASE DATE: February 13, 2024
PAGES: 317

As daughter of a well-known matchmaker, Catríona Daly is no stranger to the business of love–and sees it as her ticket away from the sleepy village that only comes alive during the annual matchmaking festival. Enter Lord Osborne’s son, Andrew, who has returned to the festival after being disappointed by a rival matchmaker’s failed setup. Catríona seizes the opportunity to make a better match for the handsome man–and for herself!

Cattle farmer Donal Bunratty is in desperate need of a wife after loss left him to handle the farm and raise his daughter on his own. Shy and lacking the finer social graces, he agrees to attend the matchmaking festival to appease his daughter. But when he arrives, it’s not any of the other merrymakers that catch his eye but rather his matchmaker–who clearly has eyes for someone else.

Catríona will have to put all her expertise to work to make a match that could change her life forever. Will her plan succeed? Or will love have its own way?


In The Irish Matchmaker, Jennifer Deibel once again makes Ireland come alive with her lyrical writing voice and vibrantly-drawn characters. The story engaged all my senses and I felt as though I were right there in the pub with Catríona and her father or at the farm with Donal and Sara, the sights & sounds & smells almost tangible. I have also somehow gone the majority of my life without knowing about the matchmaking traditions of the Irish, but I’ve recently read a couple of novels – including this one – centered around matchmakers and I find it so charming. The family tradition element is especially fascinating, and the author’s note at the end of this story made me want to learn even more.

I loved Donal, our story’s hero, and his precocious little girl Sara. Quite a pair these two make, and I melted more than once at how Sara has her dad wrapped around her little finger. She doesn’t take too much advantage of this, though, unless it comes to pushing the young widower to find a wife… and then she’s delightfully not afraid to employ all the adorable wiles at her disposal. Donal is a bit of a tragic hero and my heart ached for him at the impossible situations he finds himself in with his farm and livelihood. He’s quiet but steady and doesn’t think he’s interested in romance. But keep those fans handy because he just may surprise himself before all is said and done! The faith journey on which Deibel takes Donal in The Irish Matchmaker really touched me, not only because it was so meaningful but also because I just loved Donal so much and was rooting for him to succeed.

Catríona is the kind of heroine you want as a friend, her natural warmth setting you at ease and her spirited personality promising an adventure. She made me smile whenever she was on the page, simply because her energy felt so lively and engaging. She doesn’t overpower Donal, though…. well, not much anyway lol. They complement each other nicely, as a matter of a fact, and I very much enjoyed watching them fall in love. And can we have three cheers for a heroine who’s a bit more plump than the norm? I adored the relatability of her character (in other ways besides appearance too) and loved her sense of humor.

Bottom Line: The Irish Matchmaker by Jennifer Deibel is lovely and charming and sweet, and its layered characters will settle right into your heart… even the cows. What a delightful setting for a novel, too – a quaint Irish village known for its annual matchmaking festival (and what fun that would be to observe!). Beautiful faith lessons are integrated naturally into the story, developing the characters even further without distracting from the plot. And ohhhh the romance is so swoony and edifying and I’ve been living in a happy little glow since I closed the last page. A must-read for fans of Laura Frantz and Lori Benton – with an Irish twist!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4 stars / loved it!

KissingBook Level: 3+ / will forget to breathe on occasion

affiliate links used


Jennifer Deibel
Photo Credit: Katherine Marini, Photography by Katherine Nicole

Jennifer Deibel is the author of A Dance in Donegal (winner of the Kipp Award for Historical Romance), The Lady of Galway Manor, and The Maid of Ballymacool. Her work has appeared on (in)courage, on The Better Mom, in Missions Mosaic magazine, and in other publications. With firsthand immersive experience abroad, Jennifer writes stories that help redefine home through the lens of culture, history, and family. After nearly a decade of living in Ireland and Austria, she now lives in Arizona with her husband and their three children. You can find her online at JenniferDeibel.com.

Other Recently Featured Books by Jennifer Deibel

   


The Irish Matchmaker giveaway

Revell is offering a print copy of The Irish Matchmaker by Jennifer Deibel to TWO of my readers! (US only. Void where prohibited by law or logistics.) This giveaway is subject to Reading Is My SuperPower’s giveaway policies which can be found here. Enter via the Rafflecopter form below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What about you? What makes you want to read The Irish Matchmaker by Jennifer Deibel?

Tags: , , , ,

54 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Irish Matchmaker by Jennifer Deibel

  1. Sylvia Rodriguez

    I can’t wait to read this newest book by Jennifer Deibel! I’ve read all her others & loved them. The hard part is I read them so fast that I’m sad to finish them & not have more to read by her.

  2. Amy Judkins

    First, the cover is GORGEOUS! Also, I really enjoyed reading the blurb as well as the review. Thank you so much for this incredible opportunity!

  3. Suzanne Sellner

    I loved this book and its wonderfully developed characters! Carrie is right; one experiences the setting through the author Jennifer Deibel’s expert descriptions. Catriona eventually comes to her senses and realizes that Donal is the worthy suitor, not Andrew. Even Catriona’s father recognizes that Donal is the outstanding investment in his daughter’s future and makes his vote count. Sara wins Catriona’s heart and won mine from the beginning of the book. What a lovely lesson Donal learns about being a part of a supportive community, where everyone helps everyone else and does so willingly!

  4. Anne

    A captivating, memorable and lovely treasure of a novel which would be greatly enjoyed. I love historicals and this setting and story is special.

  5. Anna Xu

    It sounds like a beautiful story! I also love the cover – it’s so pretty! Thank you so much for the giveaway! 😊

  6. Kimberly Linaburg

    I have read some of her other books and I really liked them. Plus I love stories based in Ireland!

  7. Alison Boss

    I like that it’s an Irish story, and the story sounds charming! I’m really looking forward to reading it!!

  8. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for your review on THE IRISH MATCHMAKER by Jennifer Deibel. It just reaffirms my desire to read this wonderful sounding book, which is already on my TBR list. Lovely cover too! Can’t wait for the opportunity to read and review it.

Leave a Reply