Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Moonlight and Mystery by Karen Malley

Posted February 21, 2024 by meezcarrie in Book Review, Christian, contemporary, giveaway, Karen Malley, romance / 13 Comments


Moonlight and Mystery book review

Moonlight and Mastery by Karen MalleyMOONLIGHT AND MYSTERY by Karen Malley
SERIES:
Chester County Couples #1

GENRE: Contemporary Romance (Christian)
PUBLISHER: White Rose Publishing
RELEASE DATE: October 20, 2023
PAGES: 292

Beth Tarrington has it all: a gorgeous fiancé , a lucrative career, the latest model car, and a high-priced condo. On top of that, the Tarrington name opens every door in town. So why is she so discontent? When everything falls apart in Beth’ s life, will she finally find the strength to stand on her own two feet?

Is God really willing to stand by her side, even after she’s ignored Him for so long?

When Jason Brooks meets Beth, his head tells him to run in the opposite direction. Beth is a high-society snob engaged to another man, and he’ s not sure where she stands with God.

So why does God keep bringing the two of them together?

Can these two find love, in spite of everything that stands in their way?

 

Other Books In This Series


This is such a sweet romance novel, y’all! I was quickly charmed by the characters in Moonlight and Mystery and their stories, and I really enjoyed the cleverly implemented story within the story, too.

Beth could so easily have been a character that was difficult to relate to – from a wealthy family, controlling parents who paid for her car & her condo, feeling that she needs their approval for everything from who she marries to what church she attends to her hobbies & even eating peanut butter (though she hides those last two from them). And yet author Karen Malley does a wonderful job of not only making Beth incredibly relatable in her struggles, her desires, and her dreams, but also of making her incredibly likable. I would totally hang out with Beth – as well as her sister-in-law Jamie, her BFF Jan, and Jason’s sister Erin – if they weren’t fictional characters. I also thought her journey to reconnect with Jesus, learn to rely on Him, and understand His love for her was very moving, especially in light of the conditions her parents seemed to place on their love. Her relationship with her brother Will was a fave for me as well, and I loved how the author used him in her life.

And then there’s Jason. Oh goodness, he’s such a great hero. Not perfect, however, and Malley doesn’t shy away from his flaws, minor though they may be. Seeing him in contrast with Beth’s detestable fiance though really does make Jason shine and helps those little flaws become completely forgivable. He’s charming, handsome, kind, loves Jesus, has a servant’s heart, is a great uncle & teacher, and is pretty swoony in his own right. I enjoyed seeing him as a teacher, though some of the class scenes slowed down the story flow for me. These are minimal though and didn’t detract from my overall enjoyment. Their first kiss is absolute contemporary romance perfection and I just loved it! The community theater scenes were lots of fun too!

Bottom Line: Moonlight and Mystery by Karen Malley is an entertaining contemporary romance with layered and likable characters, a story that also refreshingly presents the gospel without being preachy or inauthentic. I loved the characters – both main and supporting – and look forward to spending time with them in future books in this series, too. Watching Jason and Beth become friends (who are attracted to each other but not acting on it for various reasons) and then eventually allow themselves to express their feelings was so sweet, and I think these two will make you smile just like they did for me. The pace is smooth and relaxed, and it’s a great book to curl up with for a few hours. Fans of Toni Shiloh and Carolyn Miller will enjoy this series too!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4 stars / loved it!

KissingBook Level: 3+ / will forget to breathe on occasion

affiliate links used


Karen Malley

Faith, Encouragement, and Happily-Ever-Afters.

Karen Malley is an author of Christian fiction. She lives in Southeastern Pennsylvania with her husband and two sons. She works full time as a scientist, but enjoys writing in her spare time. When not writing (with her left hand), she enjoys camping, hiking, playing board games, and especially reading! She loves reading faith-based stories, because we can all use a happy ending.

Karen loves to hear from her readers. You can connect with her on her website.

Other Recently Featured Books by Karen Malley

  Cactus for Christmas by Karen Malley


Moonlight and Mystery giveaway

Karen Malley is offering an ebook copy of Moonlight and Mystery to one of my readers! (Void where prohibited by law or logistics.) This giveaway is subject to Reading Is My SuperPower’s giveaway policies which can be found here. Enter via the Rafflecopter form below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What about you? What makes you want to read Moonlight and Mystery by Karen Malley?

Tags: , , , ,

13 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Moonlight and Mystery by Karen Malley

  1. Sue Parrish

    This sounds like a sweet story. I get Karen’s newsletter and she includes a thought provoking short story in it. Very well written so I am expecting the same from this book.

  2. Hesper Fry

    I really like the faith element of having a relationship with God in this story. Sounds like a really good read!

Leave a Reply