Book Review (and a Giveaway!): A Love Discovered by Tracie Peterson

Posted March 6, 2024 by meezcarrie in Book Review, Christian, giveaway, historical, romance, Tracie Peterson / 49 Comments


A Love Discovered book review

A Love Discovered by Tracie PetersonA LOVE DISCOVERED by Tracie Peterson
SERIES:
The Heart of Cheyenne #1

GENRE: Historical Western Romance (Christian)
PUBLISHER: Bethany House
RELEASE DATE: March 5, 2024
PAGES: 298

The heart finds its way when one least expects it–even in the most unforgiving frontiers.

Invited by a friend to trek west and help establish the newly formed town of Cheyenne, Edward Vogel is prepared to leave the haunting memories of his wife and son’s deaths behind him. The only problem is the corrupt new railroad town wants family men who can establish law and order, and desperation leads Edward to his friend Marybeth with a proposition of marriage.

After her father’s death leaves her with no means of support, Marybeth Kruger is in danger of having her two-year-old half sister taken from her. So when Edward Vogel, the widower husband of her late best friend, offers her a marriage of convenience to escape both their troubles, she has no choice but to accept.

Life in Cheyenne is fraught with danger, but will this arrangement be enough to save Edward and Marybeth from the pasts they tried to escape? Or will life with each other put them–and their hearts–in more danger than ever?

 

Other Books In This Series


There are a few things that will automatically grab my attention and put a book on my TBR list. One is a friends-to-more scenario and another is marriage of convenience… and A Love Discovered by Tracie Peterson has friends who are in a marriage of convenience. Yes please!!

The heroine Marybeth is so lovely in spirit, and I loved spending time with her on the pages of this book. Despite the fact that we meet her on one of the worst days of her life and that she later faces harsh living conditions in Cheyenne, she remains gracious and displays an admirable inner strength and trust in God. Her 2-year-old sister Carrie not only has the best name (lol) but she’s also such a sweet little girl and instantly lovable. The scene where Marybeth is reading from the Psalms and teaches Carrie the verse that says, “What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee,” perfectly illustrates a childlike faith, and it’s one of my favorite moments between them.

Our hero Edward is one of the genuinely good guys in this story, and the way he steps in to provide for Marybeth and Carrie with an offer of ‘in name only’ marriage made him incredibly heroic in my eyes. Even if his stubborn refusal to risk losing another wife to childbirth eventually causes him – and Marybeth – unnecessary angst as their feelings for one another deepen past friendship, I don’t begrudge him those very human fears. I also thought the author portrayed his struggles quite authentically, including how he works through his feelings toward God and the moments (however briefly at first) that he lets his feelings for Marybeth slip past his carefully-fortified walls.

Bottom Line: A Love Discovered by Tracie Peterson begins her newest series with characters that readers will quickly embrace, including a fledgling little family born of need, based on friendship, and tested by life. We grieve with them over shared losses, we rejoice with them over God’s provision, we cringe with them over the harsh reality of life in Cheyenne, we wrestle with them over fears and frustrations, and we smile with them as love comes softly into their union. (And oh my word, I’ve never wanted so badly to purse whomp a fictional pastor – in fact I believe this is the first time lol – but he really needed it.) Edward and Marybeth are both layered and relatable protagonists whom I immediately liked, along with the friends they made in Cheyenne. I’m looking forward to reading Melody’s story next, and I’m curious as to which (or none) of the other females we met in book one will be the subject of book three. In short, A Love Discovered is a lovely reading choice for fans of Mary Connealy and Janette Oke!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4 stars / enjoyed it!

KissingBook Level: 3 / may forget to breathe on occasion

affiliate links used


Tracie Peterson

Tracie Peterson (TraciePeterson.com) is the bestselling author of more than one hundred novels, both historical and contemporary, with nearly six million copies sold. She has won the ACFW Lifetime Achievement Award and the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award. Her avid research resonates in her many bestselling series. Tracie and her family make their home in Montana.

Other Recently Featured Books by Tracie Peterson

  Finding Us by Tracie Peterson  Knowing You by Tracie Peterson


A Love Discovered giveaway

Bethany House is offering a print copy of A Love Discovered by Tracie Peterson to TWO of my readers! (US only. Void where prohibited by law or logistics.) This giveaway is subject to Reading Is My SuperPower’s giveaway policies which can be found here. Enter via the Rafflecopter form below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What about you? What makes you want to read A Love Discovered by Tracie Peterson?

Tags: , , , , , ,

49 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): A Love Discovered by Tracie Peterson

  1. Linda May

    Love Tracie’s Books they are always a delightful read. Thanks for your great generosity.

  2. Jessica

    First, it is Tracie Peterson, so I would likely love it. Second, the synopsis of the story sounds like a book that would be an enjoyable way to spend a day.

  3. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for your review on A LOVE DISCOVERED by Tracie Peterson. It just makes me want to read this book on my TBR list all the more. Love this author’s books and can’t wait to settle down to read this one. Great cover!

  4. Nancy

    I would like to read A Love Discovered by Tracie Peterson because it sounds like a charming story.

Leave a Reply