Book Review: Drive You Crazy by Jessica Kate

Posted March 6, 2024 by meezcarrie in Book Review, Christian, contemporary, Jessica Kate, romance / 2 Comments


Drive You Crazy book review

Drive You Crazy by Jessica KateDRIVE YOU CRAZY by Jessica Kate
SERIES:
Amity Creek Romance #1

GENRE: Contemporary Romance (Christian)
PUBLISHER: McWhirter & Spencer Publishing
RELEASE DATE: February 29, 2024
PAGES: 364

Fans of Emily Henry and Gilmore Girls will adore this swoon-worthy enemies-to-love romance about how faith, family and small towns are never as simple as they seem.

Bubbly newspaper editor Ashley Anderson is ecstatic to finally call this small town in Washington State ‘home’—until she accidentally angers her newspaper’s biggest advertisers, and they boycott. Her neighbor Justin has the family connections to get the town back on her side—but asking for help from the man she’s nicknamed ‘Dracula’ is a last resort.

Living next door, rebel-with-a-cause teacher Justin Hastings can’t escape Amity Creek fast enough. But when a good deed goes awry, it’s his fault that Ashley’s car is out of action, and they’re forced to carpool until he can make things right.

Thrust into one another’s daily lives, Ashley and Justin learn that little is black-and-white—not small town life, not family, and not each other. But there’s a fork in the road, and it seems God has these two destined for separate paths. Can the road less travelled ever lead them back to love?

Don’t miss the chance to immerse yourself in this must-read inspirational romance about the complexities—and the beauty—of true love in all its forms.


What do you get when you take one grumpy Aussie teacher (determined not to stay in his small American town) and his sunshiney newspaper editor neighbor (who just wants to belong), and add small town gossip, a large complicated family, business woes, delightful banter, and several mishaps that force these two ‘enemies’ into close proximity? Well, in the case of Drive You Crazy by Jessica Kate, you get a fun and swoony read with plenty of depth, too! I adored watching Justin & Ashley make the jump from quasi-enemies (disgruntled acquaintances at the least) to begrudging friends and then on to actually enjoying each other’s company and falling in love. Their banter is spot on and left me grinning from ear to ear on multiple occasions, and once the kissing gets started – whew!!! Of course their road to happily-ever-after isn’t that easy so buckle up a little but their story is full of such joy, laughter and swooniness amidst the handful of tear-jerker moments.

One of the things that’s responsible for most of the emotion in this book – whether it be laughter or frustration or swooning or tears – is that at first glance Ashley and Justin could not be any more different from each other. Justin prefers peace and quiet, baking is his love language, and he can’t wait to leave Amity Creek & head back to Australia. Ashley loves to talk, keeps show tunes (at top volume) & Gilmore Girls on repeat and a tree with sentimental attachment in her bathtub, and she desperately wants to put down roots in Amity Creek. In fact, other than their mutual love for across-the-street neighbor Bee, they don’t seem to have anything in common. Yet – and here’s the beauty of Jessica Kate’s winsome narrative – once we start digging into their layers and heart-wounds, we find that maybe they aren’t quite so different after all. Not where it counts. I really appreciated how the author walks them through their respective faith journeys, grappling with their own dysfunctional families in the process and coming to understand the healing power of both forgiveness and the Heavenly Father’s perfect love. These were such touching scenes, and one of my fave parts of the story.

Bottom Line: If you love grumpy-sunshine romances with a side of ‘enemies-to-more’, Gilmore Girls, faith, and great banter, then you absolutely need to read Drive You Crazy by Jessica Kate! Justin and Ashley are both layered characters who made me smile just about any time they shared a scene, and if I wasn’t grinning like a fool (or shedding a few tears) I was swooning over their chemistry. I loved each of them individually too but they are so delightful together. Such a fun and meaningful story – and I loved the epilogue!!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4 stars / loved it!

KissingBook Level: 3+ / will forget to breathe

affiliate links used


Jessica Kate

Jessica Kate is the author of Love and Other Mistakes, A Girl’s Guide to the Outback and her 2024 release Drive You Crazy. She lives in Australia with a house full of books, a ukulele, and some pretty cool housemates.

She loves receiving new book recommendations, especially from her readers, so connect with her on social media or via her website and tell her what you’re reading today!


What about you? What makes you want to read Drive You Crazy by Jessica Kate?

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Book Review: Drive You Crazy by Jessica Kate

  1. Opposites do attract. Even though this storyline sounds predictable (aren’t most romances?) – the journey grabs my attention because the characters resolve family issues and step into forgiveness. Another good book! Thanks for the giveaway.

Leave a Reply