Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Battered & Buried by Lena Gregory

Posted March 20, 2024 by meezcarrie in Book Review, clean, contemporary, cozy mystery, giveaway, Lena Gregory, mystery/suspense / 33 Comments


Battered and Buried book review

Battered and Buried by Lena GregoryBATTERED AND BURIED by Lena Gregory
SERIES:
An All-Day Breakfast Cafe Mystery #7

GENRE: Cozy Mystery (Clean)
PUBLISHER: Beyond the Page
RELEASE DATE: March 19, 2024
PAGES: 241

The best-laid plans may go awry, but the best-laid clues could frame a man for murder . . .

Never one to let a day off work go to waste, café owner Gia Morelli and a friend head out for a blissful kayaking trip through the local national forest. But the peacefulness of the day is soon shattered when they come across Cole, her head cook, standing over a dead body. Worse still, the victim was a lifelong enemy of Cole’s, and clues found on the body point to the cook as the culprit. When the police take Cole in and subject him to an intense grilling, Gia vows to do everything she can to prove his innocence.

As even more incriminating evidence surfaces—including when the murder weapon itself is found hidden at the café—Gia knows she’s up against someone brutal enough to kill and devious enough to frame Cole for the deed. With the police ready to make an official arrest and wrap up what they consider an open-and-shut case, Gia turns for help to an old friend who’s not above breaking the law himself. Because if she can’t find the killer, Cole may go from serving up hot dishes to serving a life sentence . . .

 

Other Books In This Series

   

   


I am GIDDY to be back at the All-Day Breakfast Cafe with Gia and Savannah and Cole and Leo and Hunt and Alfie and Trevor and Cybil and Harley and Earl and Thor … and all the wonderful people that make up Gia’s inner circle. I have missed these characters and the cafe, and it was just such a delight to dive back in and feel right at home once more.

I’ve loved Cole since he first showed up at the cafe, and I quickly came to admire his steadiness of spirit and loyal support of Gia. In Battered and Buried, he’s the one in the crosshairs of the murder investigation, so Gia was deeply invested in solving this murder – and so was I! The victim is an odious man who takes great pleasure in wrecking people’s livelihoods, so there is no shortage of plausible suspects who hated him enough to want to do him in. Which means Gia and Savannah (and Alfie too) have their hands full trying to narrow it down to the correct perpetrator before anyone else winds up dead… including themselves. I had my suspicions of the murderer’s identity early on but I wouldn’t have been surprised if it had been any other of the suspects instead. One thing I’ve learned about this author’s books is that I shouldn’t assume I’m right about whodunit because I usually change my mind three or four times before all is said and done.

Bottom Line: Pull up a stool and join the All-Day Breakfast Cafe for a clever mystery that’s very personal to Gia and the family she’s built for herself in Boggy Creek. I absolutely loved being back with these charming characters who feel like dear friends and it was fun to tag along as they attempt to save their friend from being framed for murder. The author’s writing voice is warm and engaging, as always, and I read this in one sitting because I didn’t want to put it down. Battered and Buried by Lena Gregory is perfect for fans of Maddie Day, Lynn Cahoon, and Gayle Leeson!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4 stars / loved it!

affiliate links used


Lena Gregory

Lena Gregory grew up in a small town on the south shore of eastern Long Island, but she recently traded in cold, damp, gray winters for the warmth and sunshine of central Florida, where she now lives with her husband, three kids, son-in-law, and four dogs. Her hobbies include spending time with family, reading, and walking. Her love for writing developed when her youngest son was born and didn’t sleep through the night. She works full-time as a writer and a freelance editor and is a member of Sisters in Crime. Connect with Lena at her website.

Other Recently Featured Books by Lena Gregory

Murder A La Mode by Lena Gregory  Grounds For Murder by Lena Gregory  Double Scoop of Murder by Lena Gregory


a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway is hosted by Great Escapes, not RimSP
Follow along with the tour by clicking on the banner below


What about you? What makes you want to read Battered and Buried by Lena Gregory?

Tags: , , , , ,

33 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Battered & Buried by Lena Gregory

  1. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for your review on BATTERED AND BURIED by Lena Gregory and for being part of the blog tour.

    Love this author’s books! Can’t wait for the opportunity to read and review this wonderful sounding addition to the An All-Day Breakfast Cafe Mystery series.

  2. Words carry different images. When I read the title, I cringed. “Battered” immediately made me think of an abused wife. That all changed when I saw the cute cover. Of course, fried chicken and other delights are battered, and of course, a cute dog likes to bury. Clever!

  3. Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I’m so happy you’re enjoying this series! And thank you for sharing the release of Battered and Buried!

Leave a Reply