Book Review (and a Giveaway!): These Tangled Threads by Sarah Loudin Thomas

Posted April 4, 2024 by meezcarrie in Book Review, Christian, giveaway, historical, romance, Sarah Loudin Thomas / 38 Comments


These Tangled Threads book review

These Tangled Threads by Sarah Loudin ThomasTHESE TANGLED THREADS by Sarah Loudin Thomas
A Novel of Biltmore
GENRE: Historical Fiction (Christian)
PUBLISHER: Bethany House
RELEASE DATE: April 2, 2024
PAGES: 362

Seven years ago, a hidden betrayal scattered three young friends living in the shadow of Biltmore Estate. Now, when Biltmore Industries master weaver Lorna Blankenship is commissioned to create an original design for Cornelia Vanderbilt’s 1924 wedding, she panics knowing she doesn’t have the creativity needed. But there’s an elusive artisan in the Blue Ridge Mountains who could save her–if only she can find her.

To track the mysterious weaver down, Lorna sees no other way but to seek out the relationships she abandoned in shame. As she pulls at each tangled thread from her old life, Lorna is forced to confront the wounds and regrets of long ago. She’ll have to risk the job that shapes her identity as well as the hope of friendship–and love–restored.

In this seamlessly woven historical tale, award-winning Appalachian author Sarah Loudin Thomas delivers a poignant novel of friendship, artistry, restoration, and second chances.


I’ve visited Asheville, North Carolina, and the Grove Park Inn twice this week on the pages of a book, and my latest trip – via These Tangled Threads by Sarah Loudin Thomas – filled my senses anew with the homespun beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains and its master artisans. Appalachia is in my blood, and I’m always particularly drawn to stories set here. And this one… well, this one wrapped around my soul like a dulcimer hymn or a woven shawl.

In These Tangled Threads we meet our three key players right from the beginning, yet in different stages of the story. Arthur is introduced to us as an eight-year-old boy in West Virginia with a famous North Carolina connection in 1897, we first encounter Lorna in 1923 Asheville as she’s being commissioned to create a one-of-a-kind fabric that comes with its fair share of complications, and Gentry bursts on the scene of Biltmore Village in 1915 as a newly apprenticed weaver with a gift for music. The text shifts back and forth between these characters and between the years from 1915 to 1924, and while I kept up with the alternating perspectives just fine it took a bit to orient myself to the different time jumps and remind myself what had – and hadn’t – already happened. Once I did, though, I came to really enjoy the layout of this novel, most of all because of how symbolic it was to the patterns (or drafts) Lorna uses to weave a unified piece of beauty from a blend of varying threads. And though the mess Lorna has woven herself into needs a lot of untangling, in the hands of a skilled storyteller like Thomas the finished tapestry of her narrative becomes a masterpiece. Not unlike the way our Master Weaver (God) uses the tangled pieces of our lives to create a big-picture story unmatched in its exquisite perfection.

Arthur became my early favorite, as far as the main characters go, but I grew to deeply love both Lorna and Gentry too. There’s just something special about Arthur – you’ll see it for yourself when you meet him. His kindness, his open heart (even while guarded), and his resilient spirit endeared him to me right away and only embedded him further into my heart as the story continued. And then there’s the host of delightful supporting characters that burrowed into my affections right along with Arthur, Lorna, and Gentry. Naming them each would spoil some things for you, but I can declare my undying love for Angus without harm. He made my heart smile, the kind of character I love to discover in fiction, and I think he’ll do the same for you.

Bottom Line: These Tangled Threads by Sarah Loudin Thomas weaves the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains landscape, the lilt of Appalachian music, and the heart of craftsmen everywhere into a heartfelt story with subtle faith notes tenderly tucked between the lines. I fell in love with Arthur, Lorna, and Gentry as the author unpacks the deep layers of their respective hearts and lifts the veil on the trauma of abandonment that touched each one differently. This is a beautifully written novel with gentle but powerful themes of forgiveness and restoration. Highly recommended for fans of Pepper Basham, Cindy K. Sproles, and Michelle Shocklee!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4.5 stars / loved it!

KissingBook Level: 3 / may forget to breathe on occasion

affiliate links used


Sarah Loudin Thomas

Sarah Loudin Thomas (sarahloudinthomas.com) is the author of numerous acclaimed novels, including The Finder of Forgotten Things, The Right Kind of Fool, winner of the 2021 Selah Book of the Year, and Miracle in a Dry Season, winner of the 2015 INSPY Award. She worked in public relations for Biltmore Estate for six years and is now the director of Jan Karon’s Mitford Museum. A native of West Virginia, she and her husband now live in western North Carolina.

Other Featured Books by Sarah Loudin Thomas

 


These Tangled Threads giveaway

Bethany House is offering a print copy of These Tangled Threads by Sarah Loudin Thomas to one of my readers! (US only. Void where prohibited by law or logistics.) This giveaway is subject to Reading Is My SuperPower’s giveaway policies which can be found here. Enter via the Rafflecopter form below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What about you? What makes you want to read These Tangled Threads by Sarah Loudin Thomas?

Tags: , , , ,

38 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): These Tangled Threads by Sarah Loudin Thomas

  1. Phyllis Whitaker

    I had read the finder of forgotten things by Sarah Loudin. This book was an amazing read. These Tangled Threads peaked my interest based on your review. This sounds like another story that stays with you after you close the book.

  2. Donna Irvin

    Oh, I am so excited to read this book! I love Applachia and books with different timelines! This is new to me author and I have to check out her other books also!

  3. Perrianne Askew

    I haven’t read a Sarah Loudin Thomas novel in years, but the triple timeline grabs my attention because I’m pretty sure that’s not an easy technique for writing. I
    The Biltmore is a pretty fascinating place and it’s on my bucket list. I’m a quilter, so the weaving portion piques my interest. I’m sure the.Vanderbilt wedding adds another layer of dimension to the storyline. I think I’m overdue to read a Sarah Loudin Thomas novel!

  4. Haley Resseguie

    I received this book in the mail last weekend, but I haven’t had a chance to start it yet. I can’t wait to read another of Thomas’s heartfelt stories.

  5. Denise Turner

    I would love to read this book because this is a new to me author, and the story setting and time period intrigues me. I usually like WWII historical novels and have been trying to read novels in other time periods.

  6. Dianne Casey

    I love reading historical fictIion and I’ve been to the Biltmore and enjoy reading about places I’ve visited.

  7. Kay Garrett

    Thank you for your review on THESE TANGLED THREADS by Sarah Loudin Thomas. It just reaffirms my desire to read this fabulous book which is already on my TBR list.

  8. Nancy

    I would like to read These Tangled Threads by Sarah Loudin Thomas because the Biltmore area is fascinating.

  9. Patty

    I think Sarah is one of those very good but underrated/unknown authors. I have read and enjoyed each of her previous releases.

  10. Ruth

    I have read all of Sarah Loudin Thomas’s previous books and enjoyed them. This book sounds interesting especially since I have visited The Biltmore House.

  11. Leigh Nichols

    Historical Fiction is my very favorite genre- the fact that it’s also Christian is a huge bonus! I’m intrigued by the storyline.

  12. Betty Curran

    I love Appalachia and when I find a good story about it I’m thrilled. It sounds like I’ve found just what I need.

  13. Hesper Fry

    I want to read as I love historical books. The setting in the Blue Ridge mountains peaked my interest!

Leave a Reply