Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Love in Tandem by Becca Kinzer

Posted April 9, 2024 by meezcarrie in Becca Kinzer, Book Review, Christian, contemporary, giveaway, romance / 58 Comments


Love in Tandem book review

Love in Tandem by Becca KinzerLOVE IN TANDEM by Becca Kinzer
GENRE: Contemporary Romance/RomCom (Christian)
PUBLISHER: Tyndale House
RELEASE DATE: April 2, 2024
PAGES: 311

She’s perfectly content leading a quiet life in her small hometown. He’s an adventurer with unquenchable wanderlust. The two couldn’t be any more opposite if they tried. But a tandem bicycle and a 500-mile road trip just might change all that.

After a failed engagement and her mother’s battle with cancer, Charlotte Carter’s life is finally turning around now that she’s landed a dream job teaching music. What she didn’t see coming was the imminent closure of the school’s music program. She’s determined to save it, even if it means getting creative. There’s no way she’s chalking this up as just another failure in her book of recent embarrassments.

Zach Bryant is back in town just long enough to see his brother Ben get married and then he’s off traveling the world again. He never imagined he’d run into Charlotte Carter, his brother’s ex-fiancé, or that everyone would believe he and Charlotte are an item. He certainly didn’t dream he’d end up riding a tandem bicycle hundreds of miles with her in an attempt to raise funds for a defunct music program, but how can he say no when the prize money would help him out of his financial predicament too?

Charlotte is sure she can set aside her differences with Zach long enough to cross the finish line and win the giant cash prize . . . can’t she? A few hundred miles in, she’s questioning her deeply held assumptions about Zach and wondering if maybe tandem biking is only the start of their biggest adventure yet.


Oh y’all, this was such a fun read! Love in Tandem by Becca Kinzer is one of those books that just makes you ridiculously happy while reading it. I adored these characters, especially the banter & chemistry between polar opposites Zach and Charlotte who sort-of stumble into a fake relationship … and then a canoodle-ship (in which canoodling is supposed to be off limits) through very little fault of their own. The icing on the cake? How they know each other in the first place… which I’ll let you discover for yourself but which just made the whole situation equal parts more horrifying and more delightful!

From the very first line – “It’s a terrible thing when a teacher survives an entire school year only to die the first minute of summer vacation.” – I started out this story on a giggle (hey, I’ve been that teacher) and kept chuckling until the very end. I also hooted with laughter a time or two – as everything that COULD go wrong DOES go wrong with perfect comedic timing – and fanned myself a lot (because perpetually ‘affectionately-annoyed’ Zach makes a toe-curlingly swoony non-canoodling-canoodler when he forgets to be noble). It’s not all comedy and kisses though, and I thought the author did a great job exploring some deeper layers – like disappointment with God – without weighing down the story.

Ahem… I do have a tiny little bone to pick with the author however. At one point, Charlotte mentions that some traumatic events in recent years had caught up with her mom, making her look closer to 57 than 47. At which point I nearly threw my Kindle across the room because someone please tell me that turning 47 this year does NOT mean I am old enough to be a romcom heroine’s MOTHER?!? Anyone? Please? Clearly, Becca Kinzer meant to say closer to 67 than 57, right? Right?? LOL don’t worry, I won’t take out my ‘how did i get to be this old’ angst on the book or author (or my Kindle) but ouch that did hurt a little haha.

Bottom Line: What could possibly go wrong when an avid outdoorsman finds himself paired up with a decidedly outdoors-averse music teacher for a 500 mile tandem bike ride along the Natchez Trace with one tent? If you said ‘everything’ you would be most delightfully correct! Becca Kinzer is an expert at comedic timing and penning swoonilicious kisses – and even combining the two. I loved getting to know Zach and Charlotte and watching them fall in love (and kiss… did I mention the kissing?), and I also enjoyed the subplots involving their respective families and the explorations of wounded faith. If you need a story that will lighten your heart and put a smile on your face, then you need to read Love In Tandem! A perfect choice for fans of Becky Wade, Courtney Walsh, and Pepper Basham!

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4.5 stars / loved it!

KissingBook Level: 4 / keep those fans and fainting couches handy!

affiliate links used


Becca Kinzer

Becca Kinzer lives in Springfield, Illinois, where she works as a critical care nurse. When she’s not taking care of sick patients or reminding her husband and two kids that frozen chicken nuggets is a gourmet meal, she enjoys making up lighthearted stories with serious laughs. She is a 2018 ACFW First Impressions Contest winner, a 2019 Genesis Contest winner, a 2021 Cascade Award winner, and an all-around champion coffee drinker. Love in Tandem is her second novel. Visit Becca online at beccakinzer.com.

Other Featured Books by Becca Kinzer


Love in Tandem giveaway

Tyndale House is offering a print copy of Love in Tandem by Becca Kinzer to one of my readers! (US only. Void where prohibited by law or logistics.) This giveaway is subject to Reading Is My SuperPower’s giveaway policies which can be found here. Enter via the Rafflecopter form below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What about you? What makes you want to read Love in Tandem by Becca Kinzer?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

58 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Love in Tandem by Becca Kinzer

  1. Roxanne C.

    It sounds like this book will have me in fits of giggles, a perfect book to read when the day is not so bright.

  2. Donna Irvin

    Well….
    I want to read something with humor and laughter when life has gobsmacked me with crummy diagnosis and illness, while I am an RN and usually care for others instead my own story…Sometimes we need a little lighter side of life and humor to balance the negative thoughts!

  3. Winnie Thomas

    Well, if you loved it, I’m bound to love it, too, dear BFFFC! I can always use a little romantic comedy in my life!

  4. Vickie Escalante

    I LOVED Becca’s first book and can’t wait to read this one, though being unemployed makes it harder to get the book. 😉

  5. Terrill Rosado

    I loved Dear Henry, Love Edith. It was a surprise read from last year. I’ve seen Love in Tandem around but hadn’t realized it was the same author. I’m very excited now.

  6. Paty Hinojosa

    Becca is a new author to me! And her books sounds awesome, would love to read both books!

  7. Teri DiVincenzo

    This is sure to be a breath of fresh air! Becca Kinzer’s books are always so gentle and wonderful!

Leave a Reply