Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Meet Me at the Starlight by Rachel Hauck

Posted July 8, 2024 by meezcarrie in Christian, contemporary, giveaway, historical, multi-timeline, Rachel Hauck, romance / 36 Comments


Meet Me at the Starlight book review

Meet Me at the Starlight by Rachel HauckMEET ME AT THE STARLIGHT by Rachel Hauck
GENRE: Dual Timeline Romantic Women’s Fiction (Christian)
PUBLISHER: Bethany House
RELEASE DATE: July 2, 2024
PAGES: 373

“I was fully invested in these memorable characters who are as colorful as the iconic Starlight’s neon sign.”–Nancy Naigle, author of The Shell Collector

“A charming story set across three generations. . . . Themes of forgiveness, trust, second chances, acceptance, and love will leave you grinning at the last page.”–Katherine Reay, bestselling author of
Dear Mr. Knightley and
The Printed Letter Bookshop

1987. Supermodel Harlow Hayes seeks solace in a quaint Florida beach town to heal from a heartbreak that shattered her entire world. To her surprise, she encounters Matt Knight–a Hollywood A-lister with a bad-boy reputation–who has returned to his hometown to help his plucky grandmother, Tuesday, save her century-old skating rink, the Starlight.

The Starlight holds a special place in the hearts of the community, once acting as a refuge for Depression-era families and bringing the town together with gatherings and celebrations. Tuesday’s determination even protected her beloved rink from her husband’s shady business dealings. Yet when the Starlight is threatened with demolition, Tuesday begins to wonder if an era has come to an end.

As Matt and Harlow strategize to save the rink, they find themselves on a journey of surprises, self-discovery, and the kind of healing that leads to love.


We’ve seen what man can do, now let’s see what God can do.”

I was a child of the 80s and spent many a Friday night roller skating to “Walk Like an Egyptian” (why was that a roller skating song?) and various other popular songs from the 60s, 70s, and 80s while rocking (or so I thought) a fluorescent colored tshirt, jeans, and a side ponytail that doubled as a lethal weapon. So the fact that Meet Me at the Starlight is set around a roller skating rink – and its ‘present day’ timeline takes place in the 80s – had me feeling all the nostalgia. (One lone mention of “The Locomotion” and I was instantly transported back to junior high gym class, stumbling awkwardly through the grapevine every. single. year.)

At the center of this story, which also includes a timeline that covers the 1930s, the second World War, and even the 1960s, are Tuesday Knight (yep, that’s her name and honestly, it’s a perfect name for the caretaker of a skating rink, isn’t it?), the Starlight itself, and the quaint town of Sea Blue Beach (whose origin story is classic Rachel Hauck – a shipwrecked prince & the supernatural work of Jesus). And even though the Starlight is an almost magical setting, an endearing character in its own right that I think you’ll love as much as I did, that’s all just the foundation for the stories really being told in this moving novel.

At its core Meet Me at the Starlight is less about a skating rink and more about finding peace in the only Prince who can truly supply it. Tuesday needs that kind of peace in each of the timelines we see her through. Her grandson Matt (a swoony Hollywood actor with a heart of gold but a habit of making foolish decisions) needs it to heal the cause of his self-sabotaging tendencies. His former costar Harlow Hayes needs it to recover from a broken heart, a broken career, and a broken self-image. Heck, the whole town of Sea Blue Beach needs it, even the smarmy council member you’ll want to purse whomp almost immediately (an urge that only gets stronger as the story progresses, let me assure you).

Meet Me at the Starlight is also – much to my delight – a story of true love. And not just the really sweet & spark-filled romance that simmers between Matt and Harlow (though of course I was a big fan of that part of the story, especially when the kissing commences). It’s about flawed, imperfect characters who hurt each other and break promises and let us down and sometimes take responsibility for the pain but sometimes not. A mother and daughter. A husband and wife. Best friends. The person you’re falling in love with. And into those broken relationships comes the God who loves you and me so much that He sent His Son to ransom us, even when we think He’s let us down too. I thought each of these themes – peace and true love – were so timely for our current world and my own current life situation, and Hauck weaves them into the fabric of the story so it doesn’t come across as preachy or forced but also wouldn’t be the same story without them.

Bottom Line: Lace up your roller skates, tease your bangs, and Meet Me at the Starlight in this multidimensional novel that will engage all your emotions! Whether we were waiting with Tuesday for her husband to come home or holding our breath to see if the Starlight could be saved, I thought each timeline was so well-layered and poignant and drew me in just as much as the other. The characters are layered with depth and flaws, and every reader will find one they can personally relate to. Fun nostalgia and moments of humor and romance kept me smiling even as I also shed a few tears. If you’re a fan of Hauck’s The Wedding Chapel or her True Blue Royal series, then you’ll definitely want to read Meet Me at the Starlight! Also perfect for fans of Amanda Cox, Amanda Dykes, and Katie Powner.

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

My Rating: 4.5 stars / loved it!

KissingBook Level: 3+ / will forget to breathe on occasion

affiliate links used


Rachel Hauck
Photo Credit: © Emilie Haney, EAH Creative

Rachel Hauck is an award-winning, New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. She is a double RITA finalist, and a Christy and Carol Award winner. Her book Once Upon a Prince, first in the Royal Wedding series, was filmed for an Original Hallmark movie. A graduate of Ohio State, Rachel lives in sunny central Florida with her husband and ornery cat. Connect with Rachel at her website.

Other Recently Featured Books by Rachel Hauck


Meet Me at the Starlight giveaway

Bethany House is offering a print copy of Meet Me at the Starlight by Rachel Hauck to one of my readers! (US only. Void where prohibited by law or logistics.) This giveaway is subject to Reading Is My SuperPower’s giveaway policies which can be found here. Enter via the Rafflecopter form below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What about you? What makes you want to read Meet Me at the Starlight by Rachel Hauck?

Tags: , , , , , ,

36 responses to “Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Meet Me at the Starlight by Rachel Hauck

  1. Roxanne C.

    It sounds like there are lots of layers to enjoy in this dual timeline, and the nostalgia will be fun, too.

  2. Anne

    Meet Me At The Starlight is a captivating, memorable and wonderful story. The setting, era and storyline interests me greatly. My favorite era and nostalgia is so meaningful to me. I would enjoy and cherish this treasure.

  3. Excellent review, Carrie! I’m hearing lots of good reviews, including this one and one from my local book club leader. I’m also a fan of skating, and I’m passing it on to my daughters who love the skating rink!

  4. Teri DiVincenzo

    I’ve never met a Rachel Hauck book I didn’t love, and I’ve been eagerly awaiting the Starlight!

  5. Kathleen Bylsma

    I read a sample when it was first released and was intrigued.
    Then, completely forgot it because I didn’t write it down…thank you for the reminder and great review!

  6. Marti

    I read The Writing Desk a few years ago, though I did enjoy it, I wasn’t crazy about it. But considering how my tastes have changed, I think I’d really like this one now.

  7. Denise Turner

    I want to read this book because I love Rachel Hauck books, and this one sounds so interesting with the various timelines.

  8. Sarah Evankovich

    Oh my gosh, the blurb about this book takes me back to my childhood of skating on Saturdays at the local roller skating rink with my Grandpa. I would love to read this & enjoy reminiscing.

  9. Regina

    And just like that my TBR 📚 just keeps getting bigger and I guess I can also say better thanks to this blog and your awesome reviews, Carrie. 😊 I’m also a child of the 80s with so many fun memories of roller skating on the weekends and time spent with friends when life seemed to be so much simpler than it is now.

  10. Kasi Walas

    I want to read Meet Me at the Starlight by Rachel Hauck because it promises a captivating blend of romance, mystery, and heartwarming moments. Hauck’s storytelling is known for its emotional depth and engaging characters, often weaving in elements of faith and redemption. The title suggests a charming, possibly nostalgic setting that adds to the appeal. I’m eager to see how the characters’ journeys unfold and connect in a way that brings hope and inspiration. Plus, the allure of a starlit meeting spot hints at a magical, transformative experience that makes the book even more intriguing.

Leave a Reply