Category: children

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): I Am La Chiva! by Karol Hernández

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): I Am La Chiva! by Karol Hernández

Posted July 9, 2024 / 9 Comments

I AM LA CHIVA! by Karol Hernández ILLUSTRATOR: Lorena Alvarez Gómez GENRE: Children’s Multicultural Picture Book PUBLISHER: Dial Books RELEASE DATE: July 9, 2024 PAGES: 40 For fans of The Little Blue Truck, Red Truck and The Little Engine That Could, a rhyming ode to a colorful South American bus […]


July 2024 New Releases

July 2024 New Releases

Posted July 1, 2024 / 3 Comments

The year is still flying by and taking the summer with it (which is fine by me because I’ve been ready for fall since May lol), and this being July 1st means it’s time to look at a new month of new releases! There are 80 titles on this list […]


June 2024 In Review

June 2024 In Review

Posted June 30, 2024 / 4 Comments

Hello, reading friends! When I said back in my May in Review post that the heat had hit Atlanta, I had no idea how much hotter it would get. Ugh. So over summer. Bring on fall! As usual, the end of the month means it’s time for my June 2024 […]


Book Spotlight (and a Giveaway!): I Dream a Dream for You by Bob Hostetler

Book Spotlight (and a Giveaway!): I Dream a Dream for You by Bob Hostetler

Posted June 25, 2024 / 6 Comments

Welcome to the Blog Tour for I Dream a Dream for You by Bob Hostetler (illustrated by Benedetta Capriotti) hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours! Keep reading for a sweet excerpt! I DREAM A DREAM FOR YOU by Bob Hostetler GENRE: Picture/Board Book (Christian) ILLUSTRATOR: Benedetta Capriotti PUBLISHER: Kregel Children’s Books […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Not Finished Yet by Sharon Garlough Brown

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Not Finished Yet by Sharon Garlough Brown

Posted June 21, 2024 / 10 Comments

NOT FINISHED YET: Trusting God With All My Feelings AUTHOR: Sharon Garlough Brown ILLUSTRATOR: Jessica Linn Evans GENRE: Children’s Picture Book (Christian) PUBLISHER: IVP Kids RELEASE DATE: May 21, 2024 PAGES: 36 Sometimes, you see, Wren and Gran didn’t paint flowers or clouds or birds or trees. Sometimes they painted […]


Author Interview (and a Giveaway!): Ali Gilkeson & My Lighthouse

Author Interview (and a Giveaway!): Ali Gilkeson & My Lighthouse

Posted June 20, 2024 / 11 Comments

I am delighted today to introduce you to Ali Gilkeson and her new children’s picture book My Lighthouse: A Story of Finding Your Way Home. Rend Collective’s hit song “My Lighthouse” is one that’s ministered to me so often in the ten (10!!!) years since it released. Ali Gilkeson is […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Home in a Lunchbox by Cherry Mo

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Home in a Lunchbox by Cherry Mo

Posted June 13, 2024 / 17 Comments

HOME IN A LUNCHBOX by Cherry Mo GENRE: Children’s Picture Book PUBLISHER: Penguin Workshop RELEASE DATE: June 11, 2024 PAGES: 40 Cherry Mo’s stunning debut is about a young girl who immigrates to America and finds home in an unexpected place. When Jun moves from Hong Kong to America, the […]


June 2024 New Releases

June 2024 New Releases

Posted June 2, 2024 / 5 Comments

Here we are, already entering the halfway point of 2024 – isn’t that crazy?!? June’s beginning means it’s time to look at a new month of fantastic books! There are 100 titles on this list of June 2024 New Releases that are on my radar, and they comprise a range […]


May 2024 In Review

May 2024 In Review

Posted June 1, 2024 / 6 Comments

Hello, reading friends! Well, the heat has hit Atlanta and I saw my first blooming crape myrtle of the season so I guess summer is upon us! Before we look ahead to a new month, the end of the current month means it’s time for my May 2024 in Review […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Minor Miracle by Meredith Davis

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Minor Miracle by Meredith Davis

Posted May 9, 2024 / 15 Comments

THE MINOR MIRACLE by Meredith Davis ILLUSTRATOR: Billy Yong SERIES: The Amazing Adventures of Noah Minor #1 GENRE: Middle Grade Superhero/Spy Fiction (Christian) PUBLISHER: WaterBrook RELEASE DATE: May 7, 2024 PAGES: 272 What happens when a seemingly average seventh grader discovers he has superpowers . . . and then realizes […]


May 2024 New Releases

May 2024 New Releases

Posted May 2, 2024 / 6 Comments

Well, we blinked and it’s May! And with its arrival, we are not only entering into a new month of fabulous new books but a new publishing season as well! My TBR galaxy has just officially given up and surrendered to the reality that I will never read all the […]


April 2024 In Review

April 2024 In Review

Posted May 1, 2024 / 2 Comments

Hello, dear readers! I hope that by now the beauty of spring has blossomed where you live – can you believe it is May already? Before we look at the start of a new month, the end of the current month means it’s time for my April 2024 in Review […]


Book Review: Jo’s Special Gifts by Mariam Shapera

Book Review: Jo’s Special Gifts by Mariam Shapera

Posted April 25, 2024 / 5 Comments

JO’S SPECIAL GIFTS by Miriam Shapera ILLUSTRATOR: Lorna Humphreys GENRE: Children’s Picture Book / Autism PUBLISHER: Independently Published RELEASE DATE: April 22, 2024 PAGES: 39 A heartwarming story celebrating the unique gifts each person brings into the world. Join Jo, a remarkable autistic boy, on a colorful adventure celebrating his […]




April 2024 New Releases

April 2024 New Releases

Posted April 1, 2024 / 4 Comments

And just like that, it’s April! Spring is in the air (and so is the pollen haha) and once again we’re entering into a new month of fabulous new books. Can someone just stop time for a bit so I can read all. the. books? Please? There are 103 titles […]


Book Review: More Than Grit by Gretchen A. Carlson

Book Review: More Than Grit by Gretchen A. Carlson

Posted March 18, 2024 / 19 Comments

MORE THAN GRIT by Gretchen A. Carlson GENRE: Middle Grade/Young Adult Historical Fiction (Christian) PUBLISHER: Independently Published RELEASE DATE: July 15, 2022 PAGES: 239 When do secrets become lies? When is grit not enough? A story of broken lives and deep friendships, inspired by true events in 1939, when the […]


Book Review: Phooey Kerflooey by Kristen Joy Wilks

Book Review: Phooey Kerflooey by Kristen Joy Wilks

Posted March 10, 2024 / 4 Comments

PHOOEY KERFLOOEY by Kristen Joy Wilks GENRE: Middle Grade Fiction (Christian) PUBLISHER: Independently Published RELEASE DATE: March 5, 2024 PAGES: 242 A puppy will fix everything. A boring new house? Boring house + puppy = adventure! An attacking squirrel? Evil squirrel + puppy = a squirrel-battle extraordinaire! A daredevil brother […]


March 2024 New Releases

March 2024 New Releases

Posted March 2, 2024 / 2 Comments

Did March come in like a lamb or a lion for you yesterday? I’m not sure which one applies to Georgia but whichever one it was, was soggy! Once again, we’re at the precipice of another month with so many marvelous books that I want to read! There are 104 […]


February 2024 New Releases

February 2024 New Releases

Posted February 3, 2024 / 3 Comments

How did it get to be February already?!? I feel like it should still be the middle of January but maybe that’s because I was sick for most of January and I should get a do-over lol. Nevertheless, despite my feelings of denial, it IS indeed February – Black History […]