Category: mystery/suspense

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Double Whammy by Gretchen Archer

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Double Whammy by Gretchen Archer

Posted May 11, 2017 / 43 Comments

Davis Way thinks she’s hit the jackpot when she lands a job as the fifth wheel on an elite security team at the fabulous Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi. But once there, she runs straight into her ex-ex husband, a rigged slot machine, her evil twin, and a […]


Book Review: Local Poet by Paul Trembling

Book Review: Local Poet by Paul Trembling

Posted May 5, 2017 / 2 Comments

Rob Seaton Killed a Woman. Rob doesn’t know Laney Grey. But when she steps out in front of his van and dies on impact, his life will never be the same. He has to know who she was, why she chose to die, and why he had to be part […]


Author Interview: Rachel McMillan

Author Interview: Rachel McMillan

Posted May 1, 2017 / 27 Comments

I am always delighted when I get to chat with this supercool author! Rachel McMillan is a keen history enthusiast and a lifelong bibliophile. When not writing or reading, she can most often be found drinking tea and watching British miniseries. Rachel lives in bustling Toronto, where she works in […]


Book Review (and a Guest Post!): Guardian by Terri Reed

Book Review (and a Guest Post!): Guardian by Terri Reed

Posted April 28, 2017 / 4 Comments

When a fellow FBI agent is kidnapped and a protected witness vanishes, Leo Gallagher will stop at nothing to find them both. So when he discovers a link between the case and a single mother in Wyoming, Leo and his trusty K-9 partner rush to question Alicia Duncan. Could she […]



Book Spotlight (and a Giveaway!): I Found You by Lisa Jewell

Book Spotlight (and a Giveaway!): I Found You by Lisa Jewell

Posted April 24, 2017 / 34 Comments

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins. In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Cat Got Your Cash by Julie Chase

Posted April 14, 2017 / 22 Comments

Lacy Marie Crocker’s whimsical pet couture has gained a following in New Orleans’s cozy Garden District, and word of mouth has traveled all the way to her favorite fashion designer, Annie Lane. Lacy’s thrilled when Annie schedules a private session at her home to discuss a companion line for her […]


Expedition: Still Life (Guest Post and GIVEAWAY from Dani Pettrey)

Expedition: Still Life (Guest Post and GIVEAWAY from Dani Pettrey)

Posted April 13, 2017 / 171 Comments

Fell’s Point Thanks so much for joining me on Carrie’s fabulously fun blog for the fourth stop on my Expedition: Still Life Tour. Not familiar with the contest tour? Check out the details here. Today’s stop is Fell’s Point. This is where Kate Maxwell’s private investigation firm, Charm City Investigations […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Silence of the Jams by Gayle Leeson

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Silence of the Jams by Gayle Leeson

Posted April 12, 2017 / 19 Comments

In the latest Southern cozy from the author of The Calamity Café, small-town chef Amy Flowers can’t take her freedom for granted when she’s served up as a murder suspect… It’s Independence Day in Winter Garden, Virginia, and the residents are gearing up for their annual celebration. The Down South […]


New Releases I’m Excited About: Summer 2017 Mystery/Suspense

New Releases I’m Excited About: Summer 2017 Mystery/Suspense

Posted April 8, 2017 / 21 Comments

Y’all! I’m so sorry. This was supposed to post yesterday and for reasons unbeknownst to me it did not. And I flaked about checking for it. But here it is now – better late than never, I hope! All this week, I’m looking at Summer 2017 new releases. So far […]


Book Review: Southern Fried by Tonya Kappes

Book Review: Southern Fried by Tonya Kappes

Posted April 7, 2017 / 7 Comments

In the South, it’s better when the food is fried and the secrets kept buried… After the dead body of a beloved Cottonwood resident is found tangled up in an electric fence, Sheriff Kenni Lowry has a hunch that somethin’ ain’t right. Her investigation heats up with a fierce cook-off […]


Author Interview (and a Giveaway!): Dana R. Lynn

Author Interview (and a Giveaway!): Dana R. Lynn

Posted April 5, 2017 / 50 Comments

I had the privilege of meeting today’s guest at last year’s Christian Fiction Readers’ Retreat and I’m super-excited that she’ll be joining us for #CFRR2017 in August! Dana R. Lynn grew up in Illinois, but now resides in rural Pennsylvania with her husband, three children, and enough animals to start […]



Author Interview (and a Giveaway!): Dr. Richard Mabry

Author Interview (and a Giveaway!): Dr. Richard Mabry

Posted March 30, 2017 / 50 Comments

I’m so delighted to welcome one of my fave suspense authors – Dr. Richard Mabry – to the blog today! Dr. Richard Mabry is a retired physician, now writing “medical suspense with heart.” He is the author of ten published novels, three novellas, and a non-fiction book. His novels have […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Single Malt Murder by Melinda Mullet

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Single Malt Murder by Melinda Mullet

Posted March 29, 2017 / 10 Comments

When Abi inherits her uncle’s quaint and storied single malt distillery, she finds herself immersed in a competitive high-stakes business that elicits deep passions and prejudices. An award-winning photojournalist, Abi has no trouble capturing the perfect shot—but making the perfect shot is another matter. When she starts to receive disturbing, anonymous threats, it’s […]


Book Review: For Love and Honor by Jody Hedlund

Book Review: For Love and Honor by Jody Hedlund

Posted March 25, 2017 / 19 Comments

Lady Sabine is harboring a skin blemish, one, that if revealed, could cause her to be branded as a witch, put her life in danger, and damage her chances of making a good marriage. After all, what nobleman would want to marry a woman so flawed? Sir Bennet is returning […]


Book Review: When Tides Turn by Sarah Sundin

Book Review: When Tides Turn by Sarah Sundin

Posted March 24, 2017 / 11 Comments

The last thing naval officer Dan Avery wants to see on his radar is glamour girl Quintessa Beaumont—even if she has joined the WAVES. When fun-loving glamour girl Quintessa Beaumont learns the Navy has established the WAVES program for women, she enlists, determined to throw off her frivolous ways and […]


Author Interview (and a Giveaway!): Shelley Shepard Gray

Author Interview (and a Giveaway!): Shelley Shepard Gray

Posted March 23, 2017 / 26 Comments

I always love chatting with Shelley Shepard Gray, and today I have the absolute privilege of welcoming her back to the blog! Shelley Shepard Gray is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, a finalist for the American Christian Fiction Writers prestigious Carol Award, and a two-time HOLT Medallion winner. She lives in […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): A Lady in Disguise by Sandra Byrd

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): A Lady in Disguise by Sandra Byrd

Posted March 21, 2017 / 36 Comments

In this intriguing novel of romance, mystery, and clever disguise set in Victorian England, a young woman investigates the murder of her own father. After the mysterious death of her father, Miss Gillian Young takes a new job as the principal costume designer at the renowned Drury Lane Theatre Royal. […]


Book Review: Doctor’s Dilemma by Richard L. Mabry MD

Book Review: Doctor’s Dilemma by Richard L. Mabry MD

Posted March 19, 2017 / 15 Comments

Dr. Tyler Gentry had it all planned out, but the death of his parents in a plane crash changed everything. When he discovered his father had left him a mountain of debt, piled on top of his own student debt, the offer from Dr. William Hall to join his group […]