Category: mystery/suspense

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Murder on the Moor by Julianna Deering

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Murder on the Moor by Julianna Deering

Posted March 4, 2017 / 47 Comments

Mystery Awaits on the Mysterious Yorkshire Moors At the urgent request of an old school friend, Drew and Madeline Farthering come to Bloodworth Park Lodge in the midst of the Yorkshire moors, a place as moody and mysterious as a Brontë hero. There have been several worrisome incidents out on […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Fatality by Firelight by Lynn Cahoon

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Fatality by Firelight by Lynn Cahoon

Posted March 3, 2017 / 14 Comments

Cat Latimer’s Colorado bed-and-breakfast plays host to writers from all over. But murder is distinctly unwelcome . . . To kick off a winter writing retreat, Cat and her handyman boyfriend, Seth, escort the aspiring authors to a nearby ski resort, hoping some fresh cold air will wake up their […]



Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Kneaded to Death by Winnie Archer

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Kneaded to Death by Winnie Archer

Posted March 2, 2017 / 15 Comments

Everyone swears by Yeast of Eden, the Mexican bread shop in town. But tonight, the only thing on the menu is la muerte . . . Struggling photographer Ivy Culpepper has lots of soul-searching to do since returning to seaside Santa Sofia, California. That is, until the thirty-six-year-old enters a […]


Book Review: The Piper by Charles Todd

Book Review: The Piper by Charles Todd

Posted February 28, 2017 / 2 Comments

Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge returns shell shocked from the trenches of World War I, tormented by the spirit of Hamish MacLeod, the young soldier he executed on the battlefield. Now, Charles Todd features Hamish himself in this compelling, stand-alone short story. Before the Great War, Hamish is farmer in […]


Author Interview: J. New

Author Interview: J. New

Posted February 19, 2017 / 10 Comments

Today I welcome J. New to the blog for a chat. Her Vintage Mysteries are described as “perfect for fans of Golden Age Murder Mysteries, Cozy Mysteries and British Amateur Sleuths.” I have not personally read them yet (though her latest release is on my TBR list!!) but the author […]


Book Review: Justice Delayed by Patricia Bradley

Book Review: Justice Delayed by Patricia Bradley

Posted February 16, 2017 / 9 Comments

It’s been eighteen years since TV crime reporter Andi Hollister’s sister was murdered. The confessed killer is behind bars, and the execution date is looming. But when a letter surfaces stating that the condemned killer didn’t actually do it, Detective Will Kincaide of the Memphis Cold Case Unit will stop […]


Book Review: The Reluctant Guardian by Susanne Dietze

Book Review: The Reluctant Guardian by Susanne Dietze

Posted February 12, 2017 / 28 Comments

Under the Spy’s Protection When Gemma Lyfeld inadvertently interrupts a dangerous smuggling operation in her English village, she’s rescued by a mysterious Scottish spy. Now with criminals after her and her hopes for an expected marriage proposal recently dashed, she will make her society debut in London. But not without […]


Book Review: An Uncommon Protector by Shelley Shepard Gray

Book Review: An Uncommon Protector by Shelley Shepard Gray

Posted February 11, 2017 / 10 Comments

Overwhelmed by the responsibilities of running a ranch on her own, Laurel Tracey decides to hire a convict—a man who’s just scary enough to take care of squatters and just desperate enough to agree to a one year post. The years following the war have been hard on Laurel Tracey. […]


Book Review: Buried Memories by Carol J. Post

Book Review: Buried Memories by Carol J. Post

Posted February 9, 2017 / 4 Comments

FORGOTTEN PAST After her broken engagement, Nicki Jackson hoped her move to Cedar Key would give her a fresh start—instead she quickly learns someone’s out to destroy her. Are the attacks tied to her mother’s recently reopened murder case…or to the nightmares Nicki’s beginning to suspect are actually hidden memories? […]




Book Review (and a Giveaway!): A Fatal Romance by June Shaw

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): A Fatal Romance by June Shaw

Posted January 31, 2017 / 3 Comments

Fixing up homes can be tricky. Finding true love can be even trickier. But finding a killer can be plain old deadly . . . Twin sister divorcees Sunny Taylor and Eve Vaughn have had their fill of both heartaches and headaches. So when they settle down in the small […]



Book Review (and a Giveaway): A Cowboy to Keep by Karen Rock

Book Review (and a Giveaway): A Cowboy to Keep by Karen Rock

Posted January 17, 2017 / 36 Comments

Can’t stop running from the past Dani Crawford has a secret…and if bounty hunter Jackson Cade finds out, he could ruin everything. The scarred yet handsome cowboy has tracked a dangerous criminal to the dude ranch Dani manages, and to get rid of Jack she’ll have to help him catch […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Fudge and Jury by Ellie Alexander

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Fudge and Jury by Ellie Alexander

Posted January 13, 2017 / 35 Comments

Welcome to Torte–a friendly, small-town family bakery where the pastries are delicious…and, now, suspicious. It’s almost spring in Ashland, Oregon, and the town is preparing for the Shakespeare and the annual Chocolate Festival. Business is cookin’ at Torte, and the store is expanding as Jules’ team whips up crèpes filled […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Concealed Identity by Jessica R. Patch

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Concealed Identity by Jessica R. Patch

Posted January 11, 2017 / 37 Comments

DEEP-COVER ASSIGNMENT After Holt McKnight’s criminal informant disappears, the DEA agent must go undercover to get close to the missing man’s sister, who may know more than she’s letting on. But when Blair Sullivan’s attacked, it’s up to him to protect her—without blowing his cover. Blair isn’t sure she can […]


Author Interview (and a Giveaway!): Jessica R. Patch

Author Interview (and a Giveaway!): Jessica R. Patch

Posted January 11, 2017 / 50 Comments

I have got such a treat for y’all today! Jessica Patch is here to talk about her new book, Concealed Identity, and a case of a (hilariously) mistaken identity of her own! Jessica R. Patch lives in the mid-south where she pens inspirational contemporary romance and romantic suspense novels. When she’s […]


Book Review: Death in the Shadows by Paul McCusker

Book Review: Death in the Shadows by Paul McCusker

Posted January 6, 2017 / 0 Comments

When Father Gilbert traded in his detective’s badge for an Anglican priest’s collar, he never expected that murder would follow him. Even a church conference in the quant seaside town of Englesea offers no escape. The vision of a dead woman, water dripping from her body, draws Gilbert into a […]


My Fave Reads of 2016: Mystery & Suspense

My Fave Reads of 2016: Mystery & Suspense

Posted December 29, 2016 / 34 Comments

So far this week I’ve been talking about my favorite reads of 2016! Today I’m focusing on the mystery/suspense category. Monday – Contemporary Tuesday – Fantasy/YA/Fairy Tales Wednesday – Historical TODAY – Mystery/Suspense Friday – Amish Fiction Saturday – Nonfiction For all the genre categories up until today, I’ve had […]