Tag: historical fiction

Book Review: My Enemy My Heart by Laurie Alice Eakes

Book Review: My Enemy My Heart by Laurie Alice Eakes

Posted October 31, 2016 / 7 Comments

The sea is Deirdre MacKenzie’s home, and the crew of her father’s Baltimore clipper is the only family she loves. She’s happier wearing breeches and climbing the rigging of the Maid of Alexandria than donning a dress and learning to curtsy. But when the War of 1812 erupts, the ship […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Beauty And Attention by Liz Rosenberg

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Beauty And Attention by Liz Rosenberg

Posted October 25, 2016 / 22 Comments

The riveting story of one brave young woman’s struggle to free herself from a web of deceit. For misfit Libby Archer, social expectations for young women in Rochester, New York, in the mid-1950s don’t work. Her father has died, leaving her without parents, and her well-meaning friends are pressuring her […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Come Next Spring by Alana White

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Come Next Spring by Alana White

Posted October 14, 2016 / 5 Comments

It’s 1949 in Tennessee Smoky Mountain country, and everything in pre-teen Salina’s life seems suddenly different. Her sister is engaged, her brother is absorbed in caring for his sickly foal, and salina feels she has nothing in common anymore with her best friend. This novel for young people captures the […]


Book Review: The Girl in the Castle by Santa Montefiore

Book Review: The Girl in the Castle by Santa Montefiore

Posted October 11, 2016 / 7 Comments

International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century—perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor. Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special as her […]




Book Review: Friends of the Wigwam by John William Huelskamp

Book Review: Friends of the Wigwam by John William Huelskamp

Posted October 1, 2016 / 2 Comments

FRIENDS OF THE WIGWAM is a historical novel and love story about six young friends whose innocence is stripped from them seemingly overnight in the brutal setting of the American Civil War. Meticulously researched and based on real-life people and true events, FRIENDS OF THE WIGWAM spans 1857-1865 and introduces […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Starving Hearts by Janine Mendenhall

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Starving Hearts by Janine Mendenhall

Posted September 10, 2016 / 4 Comments

Since her assault, Miss Annette Chetwynd has been plagued by nightmares and worries about an arranged marriage. But she yearns to find her anonymous rescuer. Unfortunately, her health and intellect prevent it. Both repel suitors and cause Annette to doubt God’s existence, at least until He answers her prayers in […]



Book Review: The Whiskey Sea by Ann Howard Creel

Book Review: The Whiskey Sea by Ann Howard Creel

Posted September 8, 2016 / 16 Comments

Motherless and destitute, Frieda Hope grows up during Prohibition determined to make a better life for herself and her sister, Bea. The girls are taken in by a kindly fisherman named Silver, and Frieda begins to feel at home whenever she is on the water. When Silver sells his fishing […]


Author Interview (and a Giveaway!): Gabrielle Meyer

Author Interview (and a Giveaway!): Gabrielle Meyer

Posted September 7, 2016 / 55 Comments

Yaaaaaaaay!!! Y’all! I’m so excited!! GABRIELLE MEYER IS HERE!! Ok… so technically… Gabrielle Meyer isn’t HERE. She’s way up north and I’m midway down south, but we were totally in the same room not so long ago! More than once actually 🙂 More on that in a moment. If you’ve […]


Most Anticipated Book Releases Fall & Winter 2016: Historical Fiction

Most Anticipated Book Releases Fall & Winter 2016: Historical Fiction

Posted September 6, 2016 / 59 Comments

Yesterday, I gushed about how much I love fall and winter … and I gave you a list of my most anticipated contemporary fiction new releases for the rest of this year.  And of course I inadvertently omitted some. Because SO. MANY. BOOKS.  Also releasing soon in the contemporary category […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Last Relicuin by Hargus Montgomery

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Last Relicuin by Hargus Montgomery

Posted August 19, 2016 / 0 Comments

In the 22nd century, part of the world returns to history. Safe inside the guarded borders of live-in museums, museum dwellers live authentic lifestyles from prehistory to the twentieth century. Separate from all modern influences, some dwellers forget that a modern world exists outside the borders. When the son of […]



Book Review: Secrets She Kept by Cathy Gohlke

Book Review: Secrets She Kept by Cathy Gohlke

Posted August 11, 2016 / 22 Comments

All her life, Hannah Sterling longed for a close relationship with her estranged mother. Following Lieselotte’s death, Hannah determines to unlock the secrets of her mother’s mysterious past and is shocked to discover a grandfather living in Germany. Thirty years earlier, Lieselotte’s father is quickly ascending the ranks of the […]


Book Spotlight: Jonas and Olivia by Victoria Minks

Book Spotlight: Jonas and Olivia by Victoria Minks

Posted July 26, 2016 / 0 Comments

Fourteen year old Olivia Wilkerson is left desolate and grieving when her patriot father passes away. Willed by him to be placed in the care of an old friend, Olivia is forced to venture away from all she’s ever known to make her new life among people who are strangers […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Valley by Helen Bryan

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Valley by Helen Bryan

Posted July 22, 2016 / 19 Comments

Left suddenly penniless, the Honorable Sophia Grafton, a viscount’s orphaned daughter, sails to the New World to claim the only property left to her name: a tobacco plantation in the remote wilds of colonial Virginia. Enlisting the reluctant assistance of a handsome young French spy—at gunpoint— she gathers an unlikely […]



Book Review: The Last Woman Standing by Thelma Adams

Book Review: The Last Woman Standing by Thelma Adams

Posted July 14, 2016 / 6 Comments

Two decades after the Civil War, Josephine Marcus, the teenage daughter of Jewish immigrants, is lured west with the promise of marriage to Johnny Behan, one of Arizona’s famous lawmen. She leaves her San Francisco home to join Behan in Tombstone, Arizona, a magnet for miners (and outlaws) attracted by […]


Book Review: Whither Thou Goest I Will Go by Naomi Dathan

Book Review: Whither Thou Goest I Will Go by Naomi Dathan

Posted July 9, 2016 / 14 Comments

Jem Perkins has it all – money, a fine house, a handsome husband, and a new baby boy. But when her family fortunes turn, Jem’s husband Seth leads her to a new home: a sod house on a Nebraska homestead. It is a season of growth for Jem as she […]