Tag: YA fiction

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber

Posted May 15, 2017 / 25 Comments

Welcome to the: Thomas Nelson’s Young Adult Summer of 2017 Feature with For fans of Ender’s Game and Blade Runner comes a story of video gaming, blood, and power. Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule […]



My Fave Reads of 2016: Fantasy/Young Adult/Fairy Tales

My Fave Reads of 2016: Fantasy/Young Adult/Fairy Tales

Posted December 27, 2016 / 15 Comments

  It’s that time of year again!! When book bloggers from far and wide dust off their Goodreads shelves and look back fondly at the books they’ve read that year. And then we torture ourselves by trying to narrow those books down to a handful of favorites. LOL. Nevertheless, every […]


New Releases I’m Excited About: Spring 2017 Fantasy/Young Adult

New Releases I’m Excited About: Spring 2017 Fantasy/Young Adult

Posted December 13, 2016 / 27 Comments

Yesterday, I started out a look at Spring 2017 new releases with the contemporary fiction I’m excited about. Today, I had originally planned to do historical fiction, but I decided to switch the order around a bit so today’s post fits better with the Top Ten Tuesday linkup. Behold the […]


Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Unwritten Melody by Tessa Emily Hall

Book Review (and a Giveaway!): Unwritten Melody by Tessa Emily Hall

Posted November 22, 2016 / 2 Comments

Welcome to my post on the Unwritten Melody Blog Tour! Stay tuned for my review of this YA novel, plus your chance to win a great giveaway prize pack! Does breaking free require breaking the rules? Cassie Gilbert lives every day in the shadows of her deceased mom’s rebellion. But […]


Book Spotlight (and a Giveaway!): She Who Knows by Barbara Bras

Book Spotlight (and a Giveaway!): She Who Knows by Barbara Bras

Posted July 27, 2016 / 7 Comments

Purchase your copy of She Who Knows here One girl’s journey from loneliness to love. Isolated on a Maui mountaintop, Cassandra has only her imagination to keep her company. Shut in due to her heart condition and shut out emotionally by her father, she meets the Menehune in a dream. Their “Gift” […]



Book Blitz (and a Giveaway!): The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse

Book Blitz (and a Giveaway!): The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse

Posted May 10, 2016 / 14 Comments

The Neverland Wars Audrey Greathouse Published by: Clean Teen Publishing Publication date: May 9th 2016 Genres: Fairy Tales, Retelling, Young Adult Magic can do a lot—give you flight, show you mermaids, help you taste the stars, and… solve the budget crisis? That’s what the grown-ups will do with it if […]


Review (and a Giveaway!): Rapunzel by Jenni James

Review (and a Giveaway!): Rapunzel by Jenni James

Posted April 28, 2016 / 2 Comments

  Welcome to my second stop on the Jenni James Faerie Tale Collection tour with Singing Librarian Books. It is my great delight this time to spotlight & review book #10, also known as Rapunzel. Series: Jenni James Faerie Tale Collection Genre: Fiction, Fantasy, Fairytale, Romance, Young Adult Publisher: StoneHouse […]


Review: A Daring Sacrifice by Jody Hedlund

Review: A Daring Sacrifice by Jody Hedlund

Posted March 26, 2016 / 2 Comments

A strong heroine. A cheeky hero. Electric chemistry. A bit of Robin Hood-esque adventure. Add these to Jody Hedlund’s talent, and you have a fantastic new read for young adults! Adults too, for that matter. (I say this on good authority, as I have not been a ‘young adult’ in quite some time and I thoroughly enjoyed this read.)


Review (and a Giveaway!): The Starlight Chronicles by Lisa Orchard

Review (and a Giveaway!): The Starlight Chronicles by Lisa Orchard

Posted February 19, 2016 / 3 Comments

The Starlight Chronicles is a roller coaster ride of ups and downs as we follow Lark and her bandmates in their quest to win the first round of a national “American Idol”-type competition. In between jam sessions, Lark struggles with her share of teenage angst – conflicts with her mother, questions about her father, friendships, romance, etc. Then there’s Bean.


Christmas Book Blitz: Getting Kole for Christmas by Kimberly Krey

Christmas Book Blitz: Getting Kole for Christmas by Kimberly Krey

Posted December 18, 2015 / 1 Comment

For years Kylie has watched her older sisters get asked to every school dance there is. Yet once she’s old enough to go, the invites are in short supply. While getting overlooked has never felt good, it hasn’t really hurt the way it does this year. Because now there’s someone she really wants to go with: Kole Kingston. Kole is charming and funny. Gorgeous and kind. And everything she wants in a guy. Trouble is, he’s also her very best friend. Can Kylie tear herself free from the friend-zone in time to get asked to the Christmas dance? Or will she – like so many others – find that a romance between them will never be?


Review: The Golden Braid (Fairy Tales #6) by Melanie Dickerson

Review: The Golden Braid (Fairy Tales #6) by Melanie Dickerson

Posted November 19, 2015 / 8 Comments

The Golden Braid has it all – adventure, romance, dashing knights, damsels who can save their own lives, faith, nostalgia-nods to series fans, even a mention or two of Thornbeck to tie in her other series. Most of all though, it has the warmth and heart with which Melanie Dickerson writes all of her books. C.S. Lewis famously said, “Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.” If you haven’t read one since childhood, may I suggest you start again now – and start with Melanie Dickerson’s Fairy Tales/Hagenheim series?


Review: War for the Waking World by Wayne Thomas Batson

Review: War for the Waking World by Wayne Thomas Batson

Posted November 7, 2015 / 0 Comments

Would you be willing to fight for your dreams?  Fifteen-year-old Archer Keaton has the ability to enter and explore his dreams. He is a Dreamtreader, one of three selected from each generation. Their mission: to protect the waking world from the Nightmare Lord who dwells beyond the Slumber Gate. But […]


Review: Dauntless & Chivalrous (Valiant Hearts #1 & 2) by Dina L. Sleiman

Review: Dauntless & Chivalrous (Valiant Hearts #1 & 2) by Dina L. Sleiman

Posted October 28, 2015 / 4 Comments

Though once a baron’s daughter, Lady Merry Ellison is willing to go to any lengths to protect the orphaned children of her former village. Dubbed “The Ghosts of Farthingale Forest,” her band of followers soon become enemies of the throne when they hijack ill-gotten gold meant for the king. Timothy […]


Review: The Sound of Silver (Steadfast Love #2) by Rachelle Rea

Review: The Sound of Silver (Steadfast Love #2) by Rachelle Rea

Posted October 19, 2015 / 4 Comments

The Steadfast Love Series is set in 16th-century Europe, where the Reformation rages between Protestants and Catholics, and chronicles the journey of two wounded hearts on the path toward restoration. Gwyneth, a half-Dutch Catholic, flees from England to Holland to escape the man she believes murdered her parents. When he follows […]



Book Review: The Princess Spy by Melanie Dickerson

Book Review: The Princess Spy by Melanie Dickerson

Posted April 16, 2015 / 8 Comments

THE PRINCESS SPY by Melanie Dickerson SERIES: Fairy Tale Romance #5 GENRE: Young Adult Romance/Fairy Tale Retelling (Christian) PUBLISHER: Zondervan RELEASE DATE: November 4, 2014 PAGES: 300 In this historical fairy-tale romance book from bestselling author Melanie Dickerson, based on The Princess and the Frog, Margaretha hopes to find her […]